We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed a few nights in portland before heading to bar harbour. The hotel was comfortable, convenient location, and wasn't noisy. I do hate having to valet, but we didn't even need our car until we left. Has a very small lap pool, not really for kids. Good breakfast buffet and reasonable price if you don't order at the window. Overall, would recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank darknite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear darknite1,

Thank you for providing your feedback on line. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our convenient location. We do provide a valet service for our guest as this is the most economical option in the city for parking, versus meters or city garages. We hope that you will join us when you are in Portland, Maine again.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

My wife and I were planning a quick weekend trip to Portland and wanted to stay by the waterfront. After looking at a number of hotels we decided on the Hilton and am glad we did. The room was basic but very nice. Amenities included LCD TV, fridge (nice!), microwave, and Keurig machine. One thing it didn't have was a room safe, but we could overlook that.

Every member of the staff we interacted with was VERY nice. From the valet, to concierge, front desk, bartender, and various staff members we met in the hallways. Every one of them was friendly and helpful.

The location is great. We valeted the car and were close enough to tons of restaurants and other things to do that we didn't have to use the car at all. $15/day for valet parking is a deal too (try finding that price in other cities).

We're already talking about the next time we go to Portland and we'll definitely be staying at the Hilton. It's a winner!

Room Tip: Although a Casco Bay view would be nice, be aware that those rooms face Commercial St. You'll ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Gary R,

Thank you for posting your thoughts about your recent stay with us on line. We value your feedback and appreciate your recommendation. Thank you for the accolades. We look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to Portland, Maine.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Located close to the ferry terminal and the seafood restaurants along the front. Very friendly staff and good selection for breakfast, where the servers ensured you were fully aware on what was on the menu. Quiet comfortable room despite overlooking a busy road junction. Some really nice quaint shops in the area and nothing like the same-old-same-old as seen in the cities across the western world.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank JDK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear JDK111,

Thank you for posting a review of us on line. We are pleased and gratified to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This Hilton Garden Inn is all you need in a hotel in Portland, Maine. It's located in a great downtown location that is waterfront with lots of shops and restaurants around. The rooms are clean, spacious and well maintained. The hotel has a 'pantry' where you can pick up everything from newspapers, candy, drinks and forgotten toiletries. There is full service breakfast in the am and a bar for an evening cocktail. Valet parking service is available. My second stay at this property. I can't find a negative with this property. Where I stay in Portland, Maine. Recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishywishy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear mishywishy1967,

Thank you so much for the glowing review of us here at the Hilton Garden Inn in Downtown Portland Maine. We are proud of the service we give and the product we provide at our convenient location. We appreciate your recommendation and loyalty. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We head to Portland at least once a year, and have stayed in a few places. Hilton Garden Inn is by far our favorite because of the location, staff, rooms and value. The staff, from the front desk to the lobby bar, is consistently friendly, professional and helpful. Each time we go, the rooms are clean and comfy. And, we love the location in that we can easily walk to the ferries, great shops and restaurants (in the morning, head to the bakery in the back parking lot!). We always look forward to our stay here.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms have a gorgeous view, get good morning sunlight and they are a great way to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllaAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear EllaAO,

Thank you kindly for your glowing recommendation. We appreciate your loyalty and are so pleased to read that we consistently exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next trip up north!

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our stay went very well The place was clean. Service was good. Location was great. Parking was easy. Though not a fan of the $15/day to park. I did feel it was pricey but the Hiltons are a great hotel.Would stay again for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Sylf19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Sylf19,

Thank you for your honest review of the recent stay you had with us. We are pleased to read that you found us clean and friendly. Our valet parking is one of the more economical options for parking in the city, versus paying a meter or parking garage, we do offer 24 hour valet access to your vehicle as well. We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were extremely satisfied with how we were treated. We were given a room near the elevator. There were a lot of people on our floor that were traveling together and were really noisy. I called the front desk and were immediately switched to a quiet room. This was when the hotel was fully booked. We were overjoyed!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Y637RKsusanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Y637RKsusanc,

Thank you for posting feedback of your recent stay with us on line. We are pleased to note that we were able to accommodate you and make your stay as peaceful as possible. We value your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101-4703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $140 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing