We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. Staff is attentive and informative. Valet is great as well. Rooms are spacious and very clean. We will be back here for sure. Thanks for making our night out special and memorable.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank 35yearsMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear 35yearsMaine,

Thank you for posting a review of us on line. We are glad to read that you found our valets friendly, rooms clean and overall staff helpful. We work hard to make sure we satisfy our guests in many areas. We look foward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

947 - 953 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

My other half was working south of Boston for a week so I decided to fly up at the end of the week and stay the weekend. Boston hotel rates were outrageous so I started looking elsewhere and picked Portland based on what I had recently heard and read about its gentrified downtown area. I picked the Hilton Garden based on the “near the port” choices. I made a reservation on line and then emailed the hotel with additional questions about the area and the hotel. Aaron promptly responded to all my inquiries and even upgraded us to a harbor view room over a month in advance due to our HiltonHonors Diamond status. There was a shuttle, and Aaron responded to just call upon arrival. We had originally planned to take the train but found the bus schedule and price to be more convenient and reasonable. Had I checked out the bus schedule 6 weeks prior when I made the original plans, we would have stayed two nights, but in order to get back to Logan for our Sunday flight home, we couldn’t take the train unless we took the very early one! The bus would have worked and not required such an early departure to miss breakfast and avoid a morning rush. The shuttle was there in less than 15 minutes and also returned us the next day. We were allowed to check in on our arrival just after noon. We went to lunch and then bought some Maine souvenirs. Due to the chilly weather and being tired, we returned to the room and took it easy for the afternoon. We took the ferry to Peaks Island for dinner; it leaves just across the street. We were in Room 610 and had a great view. The wifi worked flawlessly. The tv was good and received many clear channels. There was a fridge, microwave, and a fancy coffee pot. The bathroom had a great, low tub which provided a few luxury baths for us. Many comfortable towels plus ample amenities were also provided. There was no hot water when we awoke the only morning we were there, but the staff was well aware and explained that both boilers had gone out. They had this issue resolved in an hour or so and did the best they could. I met Aaron on our return from dinner and thanked him for his correspondence. Everyone at the front desk was very welcoming and kept asking what more they could do to make our stay the best possible. They were all professional. Breakfast was good but a little slow at time. It took 10 minutes to make eggs over medium?? They had sausage (patties and links), bacon, and sugar ham. There were many pastries, juices, breads, yogurt, and more. They made eggs to order, and I had eggs over medium as previously mentioned plus an egg white omelet. Everything was great, but they were running low on large plates and glasses, possibly due to hot water issue. Manager came by to see how we were doing and went above and beyond. Our breakfast was included due to our Diamond status. We left a tip for the staff as well. We had a 2 o’clock check out due to our AARP rate, but the maid knocked just before noon and ignored the “Do Not Disturb” sign on the door. The maid staff was all friendly and spoke when we passed in the hallway. Checkout was smooth, and we left about 12:30 to catch our 1:30 bus. I got change for future tips, and the shuttle was ready to go in less than 3 minutes. Based on this quick reintroduction to Portland, we will definitely return in the next year-possibly in the fall. The Hilton Garden will be our first and only choice as to where to stay. If it not available or too pricey, we will just choose another weekend but not another hotel. Thanks for a great, comfortable, and welcoming stay!

Room Tip: get a harbor view, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BerlinG-ParisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear DisneyParis,

Thank you kindly for the detailed review of your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn, Downtown, Waterfront. We are pleased and gratified to learn that you found us so hospitable and comfortable. We look forward to your return the next time you are in Portland, Maine.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We luckily chose this hotel for our first stay in Portland. We ended up with a room with a very nice view of the harbor, and also saw a beautiful sunrise over the water. Room was very clean and the staff was very helpful. Valet service was great. Hotel is within walking distance to excellent restaurants and we also had a nice walk to the Civic Center one evening for a show. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Fruitflyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Fruitflyjr,

Thank you for the excellent review that you posted in regards to your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn, Downtown Waterfront. We are pleased and gratified to learn that we exceeded your expectations throughout your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed to attend the Portland Flower Show. It was within walking distance which was very convenient and easily walkable. Very pleasant helpful staff, valet parking the only option and they were great about bringing the car up to put things in it and the valets were particularly pleasant, beds were very comfortable and great shower. We just find the duvets, which look wonderful, are too warm for sleeping comfortably-if we could open the windows so it would get chilly in the room, that would be perfect but of course that is not an option. Breakfast is a combo of buffet style and a chef that will make whatever kind of eggs you would like. That was the only meal we had there and they did a nice job with lots of options. Had never stayed in a Hilton Garden Inn before but would do it again after our experience at this one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank DebBrentwood_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear DebBrentwood_NH,

Thank you for the detailed review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We are happy to note that you enjoyed our bountiful buffet breakfast, our friendly staff and convenient location. Please come and see us again soon!

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Sit and watch a working harbor comfortably during a snow storm. Higher floors do have the best views and less street noise. Staff is helpful and cheerful, Meghan at the front desk and Avery/valet parking.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ChrisandLeah63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear ChrisandLeah63,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on line about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the view of the Harbor so much, we have a beautiful location! Meghan and Avery also provide superlative customer service, and I am glad you enjoyed their hospitality. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Summary: Very comfortable rooms, reliable wifi, quality room amenities (not highly luxurious but everything you need), comfy bed, accommodating and intelligent staff, and best location in Old Town. We've stayed at about a half-dozen hotels in and round Portland, various price levels, and this has by far the best cost-to-quality ratio. Really, if you can swing it, this is the place to stay.

Long story: We've been meaning to write a review since our return from a stay just after New Year's 2014 because the customer service was so excellent it deserves a nod.

We stopped in town to visit a family member en route from farther north, hoping we'd outrun a predicted snowstorm. But sure enough, got stuck two extra days thanks to more than 20 inches of snow. The front desk personnel were AMAZING. When we asked about extending our stay next morning, they volunteered information about the "distressed travelers" rate and kept us in our room, and again the next day, when we had to extend once more due to icy road conditions – even though we'd been upgraded on the first night so were getting an incredible bargain. We couldn't believe it.

We ended up with a first-class view of the snow falling over the harbor and an incredibly convenient location in which to be stranded. Portland suspended street parking for 2 days but we were within easy walking distance of the few shops and restaurants that stayed open, plus near the movie theater and a coffee/bakery.

All that, along with unfailingly pleasant attitudes and smiles from front desk, to car valet (who must have been freezing!), to housekeepers. Having encountered a similarly unexpected hiccup during a prior stay at a more expensive high-end Portland hotel, where we received clueless, helpless responses from the staff, it was surprising and so gratifying to get four-star treatment at a lower cost here. Great staff training and management.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view; above 5th floor should ensure a clear sightline over the large building across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loredowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Loredowood,

Thank you kindly for the five star review and detailed account of your stay with us! We are a close team and work hard to make sure that each and every one of our guests has a wonderful time when they are visiting Portland, Maine. From the valet service, to the front desk agents, housekeeping and food and beverage, we look for opportunities to exceed our guests expectations, and I am pleased to read we hit the mark during your stay. Thank you for your recommendation, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The room was terrific, the staff was incomparable, the breakfast was over the moon and the front the valet personnel were fantastic too!

All in all - one heck of a fabulous weekend. Cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: I can only say that the one that we stayed in was great - I cannot compare it to any others...althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodinefertiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear jodinefertiti,

Thank you for the positive feedback! We are happy to read that your overall stay was so enjoyable. We look forward to the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront being your destination the next time you visit Portland, Maine!

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101-4703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $140 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing