We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, great location, very good facilities!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
“Excellent staff, great location, very good facilities!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Our stay here was great. The property is well maintained and the location was great - we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go (even in December). But the staff really set this hotel apart - they were helpful, responsive and very, very considerate!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lauri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Lauri G,

Thank you for the 5 star review of your recent stay with us. It is gratifying for us to read how helpful and pleasant you found our team. We aim to make everyone feel at home, and are glad we hit the mark during your stay. Maine is a pleasure to visit year round and we are happy you enjoyed us this December! We look foward to the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront being your destination the next time you travel to Portland, Maine.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    429
    88
    19
    13
See reviews for
342
640
50
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I hadn't ever been to Portland, and had been told it was important to find lodging close to downtown. I absolutely agree. The Hilton was close to almost all attractions people want to see while visiting. The rooms were spic & span, comfortable, and the employees were most helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cutsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear cutsman,

Thank you for the excellent review of your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront in Portland, Maine! We are glad that you made it to Portland and chose to stay with us! Our location is very convenient with over 200 shops and restaurants in walking distance. We are glad to read that you found us comfortabel, clean and friendly. We hope to see you again!

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had a great stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Portland. Everything is close walking distance (restaurants, shops, the ferry). The kids loved the free horse & cart ride to be had from the local square after lunch time. The Childrens Museum is good with plenty to explore. All in all a great easy weekend away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Glenn C,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that your children enjoyed the museum! There is a lot to do downtown and we are glad you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel!

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The last time here was for pleasure and this was two nights on business. The free breakfast for Honors Members adds value, the staff is friendly as well as knowledgeable, and the property is clean and in the best location in the city.

Ask for the top floor and three sides will have a view.

Room Tip: Higher floors on three sides have a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishmarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Englishmarm,

Thank you for the excellent review that you provided. We are glad you enjoyed complimentary breakfast, that is certainly a nice perk of being a Hilton Honors Member! We are glad you enjoyed our location and hope that you can stay with us again.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Have stayed here a second time within 2 months. Staff are friendly, good service. Rooms are clean and spacious. Location is ideal being close to some great restaurants and shops with some great staff.

Room Tip: Corner room is bigger and brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BermudaCoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear BermudaCoelho,

Thank you for your continued patronage! We are so pleased to read about your excellent stay and hope that we can reach that mark again during your next visit. Safe travels!

Best regards,
Aprl Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delran, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Very nice hotel, good services, and staff that are looking to assist as needed. The hotel is within walking distance (even on cold days) to several good restaurants, pubs, and bars. The area was a buzz with activity and you are safe walking out and about into the late evening hours. Rooms are well kept, quiet, and have mini fridges to keep your favorite beverages cool or cold. Overnight parking was a breeze with the valet service and the valet team was quick, reliable, and helpful with directions for out of towners.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Christopher Dan... I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Christopher Dan,

Thank you for the positive feedback! We are pleased and gratifued that you found our valets so helpful and that you enjoyed you overall stay. We hope that you are able to join us again in the future!

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellsworth, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The hotel was extremely nice. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. The location was perfect to walk around the Old Port for some shopping and pubbing!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Dianne H,

Thank you for the excellent review of our hotel! We are pleased and gratified to read that we hit the mark in all areas during your stay and appreciate the recommendation. We hope to see you gain the next time you are in the area.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101-4703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing