We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront gem in Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Great downtown location. Ten minute walking distance to no fewer than 30 restaurants, bars, cafe's. Rooms are typical of those for HGIs, but the reception area is wonderful. Valet parking is worth the cost, as there is very little street parking in the immediate vicinity. Staff are very friendly and receptive. I've stayed here twice. Rooms on the street/waterfront side can be a problem for light sleepers, as the street is audible, but not loud. Rooms facing the back are dead silent, but it is at the expense of your view (the parking garage). I also highly recommend RiRa right across the street for a nice Irish Pub experience, and the Standard Baking Company right next door for coffee and pastries in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Stephan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Stephan C,

Thank you so much for your detailed review of your stay with us! We are so pleased you joined us again, and enjoyed your stay so much. We have an excellent location and always aim to give our guests a high level of service. Glad we made that mark. We look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Excellent location, Courteous Staff, The Valet parking attendants: always helpful, ready to suggest points of interest, restaurants etc, always greeted us with a smile. Staff voiced concerns about the weather and our trip back and wished us luck. All around a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Robert J,

Thank you for the glowing review of us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront. We are so pleased you enjoyed our friendly service. Our valets really take great care of our guests. We hope that you join us again.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel is always clean and comfortable. We love the atmosphere and the location. It's dog-friendly, and after many stays, I have never heard or smelled and dogs. The food is good, and service always impeccable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Erica J,

Thank you for the positive feedback in regards to your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed our overall stay. We hope that you can join us again!

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a typical Garden Inn property..hotel rooms all look alike (throughout the US). Though I will say the finishes on the walls were a few grades up from typical Garden Inns and the lobby space was inviting and modern and clean looking. The much discussed swim pool, is, in fact, a LAP pool... not what I thought, so I didn't use it. We were there over the Thanksgiving holiday. We checked in on Thursday morning.. and here it gets a little sketchy. Since this hotel is pet friendly, we brought our small parrot. Since we had our small parrot, we needed to check in when we arrived in Portland which was a little after noontime. (The parrot can't stay in the cold [and it WAS cold] car and we couldn't take him to a house with a cat and a dog which was our Thanksgiving destination) I called the day before and spoke with someone in charge about the possibility of checking in early...he allowed that the hotel was nearly empty the night before Thanksgiving so he didn't see it as a problem. However, when we arrived, the valet whisked us in, the front desk knew all about our request (the lobby was EMPTY) and so our room was said to be waiting. Oh, it was waiting, but because we made this special request...somehow we were given a room with no view, no sun and generally unsatisfactory given that we were paying top dollar. I, of course, knew that this was a possibility... but, given that the hotel was nearly empty the night before... would it have been so hard to find us a room with a lovely harbor view...given that our rate was not at all discounted.... ? Apparently not so. I can understand giving people Siberia rooms if they have obtained the booking at half price on some network consolidator or if the hotel is heaving with customers and that is that. But, this incident left me a little irritated. It was unnecessary and poor management. Now, I am just waiting for the new Westin to open...

the Hilton Garden Inn location is wonderful. The breakfast was expensive and only a half a step above the free ones at the Hampton Inn right up the street. In general I would love this property, except for feeling ripped off.... by a poor choice on the part of the front desk.

The rooms are relatively clean..however, I did find a stray coat button under the bed, which would lead me to believe that it hadn't been recently or regularly vacuumed. The room set up is nice with refrig/microwave/coffee maker in room.

We may be back --- but, competition will get stiffer very soon.

Room Tip: the valet parking is apparently part of the room price. You do need to tip the valet everytime you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelleyinBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear ShelleyinBoston,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. I apologize that you were not able to check in as early as expected. I was able to look at your reservation and see that you booked a room with a city view, versus a room with a water view. I am happy to assist you personally with reservations should you join us again and wish to book a room with a water view. The hotel was booked for the holiday so there weren't any upgrades available night of. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 207-780-0780. Thank you again.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My husband, two daughters (ages 12 and 10) and I stayed at the Hilton for a long weekend get-away and it ended up being a great choice. Every person who worked there was exceptionally and genuinely friendly, from those behind the front desk to the wait staff to the valets. The room was clean and we chose one that overlooked the harbor so we watched the ferries arrive and depart. The indoor pool was small but also clean and well maintained. One night we ate dinner at the hotel's restaurant since it was brutally cold outside and were pleasantly surprised; the food was very good and the house wine (Cabernet) was too. Plus there's complementary coffee and tea in the lobby all day and blueberry oatmeal bars in the afternoon. The hotel is also right in Old Port so it's within walking distance to nice restaurants and cool shops. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelbyJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear ShelbyJune,

Thank you so much for the glowing review of your recent stay with us! We strive for excellence in all areas of our hotel, and are so pleased that we hit the mark during your stay the entire way through! Our location is both conveniently and beautifully located, and we are pleased that you enjoyed many of our complimentary amenities, such as the salt water pool, blueberry oatmeal bars and Starbucks coffee! We look forward to seeing you and your family again, and in the near future I hope!

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in November 2013. We totally love the Old Port, and this hotel is an ideal location for enjoying the eating and shopping in that part of Portland. The hotel is right next to the legendary Fore Street restaurant and the similarly well regarded Standard Baking Company. We travelled with our dog and were assigned a room on the pet floor (the third). The room was clean, modern, and amply sized. This hotel is generally less expensive than our other go to property in the area, the Marriott Residence Inn, and the pet "cleaning fee" is $50 per stay as opposed to $100 at the Marriott so points to Hilton on both those accounts. On the down side, parking is entirely valet, which for this stay was not an issue since we didn't need the car all weekend, but all things considered I'd prefer to park my own car and to access it whenever without relying on an intermediary. All in all this hotel is a good option if you're visiting Portland's Old Port.

Room Tip: Most rooms either face Fore St/Standard Baking which is actually not a bad view or Commercial St and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Drew H,

Thank you for the detatiled review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you liked our price point and location. Our rooms are very clean, we have a strong housekeeping team, and I am happy you noticed that. Many of our guests like the convenience of our valet service, as parking can be tight in the city at times. When you are in the area again, please don't hesitate to contact me personally, 207-780-0780, so we can arrange for you to access your car easily during your stay.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The staff was super friendly and helpful. Meghan at the front desk made sure we had everything we needed and Avery,our welcoming valet, gave us super helpful hints on where to dine. We stayed in the spacious corner suite with fantastic views of the water. The lobby and rooms are very nicely decorated. The lobby coffee was very good. Portland has a lot to offer and I am looking forward to a return trip and staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyndy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Cyndy13,

Thank you for the glowing review of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read how helpful Avery and Meghan were. They are valuable members of our team and know the area well. We are looking forward very much to your next stay with us, and hopefully you can enjoy our saltwater pool and fitness center along with our complimentary Starbucks coffee!

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101-4703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $125 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing