We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location,great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were traveling New England by motorcycle and the hotel was fantastic! Let us park right beside the door! Hotel staff were friendly and helpful in their suggestions of sights and things to do. The room was spotless and well appointed, with a view of Casco Bay and Commercial Street right below us! Couldn't have been more pleased!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank btack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you so very much for your kind words! We hope to see you again soon. - Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We can't wait to return to portland next August, our golden retriever loved every minute of the trip, visiting all the lighthouse parks as well as the ocean, we loved our harbor view room with all it's space.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Kelli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

It was our pleasure having you stay with us! - Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel was awesome and the folks at this hotel were great, especially the evening bartender.............she was awesome and a great asset to this hotel, Milk with our cookies ! thanks to her ! We had an enjoyable stay. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We are very happy to hear you had an "awesome" stay with us. I will be sure to share your positive comments with Sloan, our evening bartender. She does an excellent job! - Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We frequently visit Portland, Maine often we continue to enjoy this hotel. Location is everything and we love how this hotel is right on the waterfront and everything is within walking distance, including plenty of great restaurants. Standard baking company is adjacent to the front entrance and why go anywhere else for coffee and pastry for breakfast? (we take our breakfast coffee and pastry and sit on the pier and enjoys the waterfront activity).

Room Tip: To get a waterfront view is the best, but not always easy as the hotel is very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon! - Kevin Walker ,GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location of this hotel makes it convenient for those who want to be in the downtown area and travel by foot. Everything is pretty much walking distance unless you're venturing out further. However, for the price of the rooms, the amenities seemed really subpar. You're paying luxury boutique hotel prices for a standard hotel. If you're okay with that, I'd recommend it.

We chose this hotel because it was dog friendly. The staff was friendly and average. All around, everything was average and nice. But with that price tag per room, I'd expect a bit more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jl1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our location and our pet-friendly atmosphere. I am sorry to hear you thought the amenities did not meet your expectations. Perhaps there is something we can provide for you the next time you arrive that you didn't see this time? Kind Regards, Kevin Walker GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We loved the location of this hotel (right on Commercial Street) and the top floor room with the terrific view of the waterfront. Everything was walking distance from the hotel. Our room had nice space, and I liked the separate couch/seating area with the table. We also had a fridge which was quite welcome. Only negative on the room was the big smear of bird poop on the window (kind of takes away from the beautiful scenery). You do get some street noise but it's not that loud, and the downtown area is pretty quiet by 10p/11p,
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly; one of the valets gave us a great tip for a nice beer garden a little away from the tourist area (Novare Res, cool spot). You do have to pay for parking, which seemed a little much since it's not like we had a choice.
I do think the hotel is a bit overpriced, but we did have a waterfront room at the height of their tourist season, so I'm sure that's why we paid so much.

Room Tip: Top floor with waterfront view. It's pricy but a really nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your support of the property and taking the time out of your day to respond on trip advisor. We hope to see you again some time soon! - Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Before I begin, here are my room tips: rooms 612, 610, 512, 510 have the best views of the port and are in a more secluded area of the hotel so that you have reduced elevator noise and foot traffic.

I have an issue with the Hilton price points in general -- not really a luxury hotel, but not a inconsistent. Though I understand Hilton hits a marketing sweet spot in that they are not a luxury hotel (no bellhop, no concierge, bland and cookie cutter decor) but they have great beds and bedding, clean rooms and bathrooms. This Hilton is no exception.

But the price -- ouch! Our cost for one night including the valet parking was $400 on a Monday night. I've paid this much at a Four Seasons. Hilton's prices were about $150 too much. Thankfully, however, the kind staff upgraded us and we racked up some decent HH points.

The views of the harbor were great. Our room was 612 and it afforded a gorgeous view of the bay and the bustling seaport. Portland is a fun city and you are definitely in the middle of everything here.

Hotel tips: the indoor pool is freezing even in summer, way too chlorinated, and ridiculously public. We swam in early evening and street pedestrians were stopping and looking through the windows as we did laps. Hey Hilton, how about some blinds?

Eat elsewhere: Standard Baking Company next door for unbelievable pastries and coffee. Eventide Oysters and DuckFat were two great restaurants within a block or two. You are in the middle of everything at this HIlton include great shops and cafes. I presume this is how they justify the high room rate.

To be fair, it was as it was to be expected -- you know exactly what you're going to get at a Hilton. Nice staff. Clean and exactly the same look as the other zillion Hiltons. I'd only stay here in Portland -- whether business or with family.

We will return but won't pay more than $300

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neptuno3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your detailed review of our property. I am glad to hear you would stay with us again next time around! I am sorry you felt our prices were on the high side. The Portland market has exploded due to the leisure travel demand. To stay at a very limited service, Motel 6/Days Inn, you would be looking at a rate of over $200-$250 during the prime vacation season. We will try our best to show you more value the next time around! - Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101-4703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $140 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing