We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE FOR FAMILY REUNION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Portland waterfront in and of itself is a terrific experience. Staying at The Hilton Garden Inn Portland waterfront was the icing on the cake. We took a sunset cruise with the pier directly across the street. Everything was so convenient and coming back to the hotel always a pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your "Portland experience" at the HGI. The sunset cruise must have been great to see! We hope to see you again some time in the future. - Kevin Walker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,485)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,075 - 1,081 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very good hotel in a wonderful location. Superior staff and just the right degree of attentiveness. Mediocre, over-priced food in the lounge/dining area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Portland, but encourage them to avoid the restaurant, except for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We really appreciate the kind words you wrote regarding the service standards of our staff. I wish we could have hit the mark, though, on our food quality with your food & beverage. Our chef is talented and comes from a really good restaurant background - so perhaps you can give us another chance at a future dates. - Kind Regards, Kevin Walker GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Location is a big plus at this property when one arrives by car. Just an easy 5 minutes from the highway with no narrow streets or clogged traffic to negotiate, yet in the heart of the Old Port in walking distance from most points of interest. Staff is efficient and obliging. Our room was spotless and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We appreciate your willingness to write out a review on our behalf. It sounds like we met exactly what you were looking for in your stay! We hope to see you again soon. - Kevin Walker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is located near the waterfront in a perfect location. You can walk to anywhere in Old Port from here. There are outstanding restaurants and bakeries within steps yet there is a long trail along the railroad tracks for a nice hike or jog. The staff are as courteous and friendly as you could hope for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank MFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff - I will be sure to share your comments with them. I am also pleased to see you enjoyed our downtown Old Port location. It is tough keeping the calories off working so close to these restaturants! We hope to see you again soon. - Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Spent 2 nights here at the beginning of a road trip across the USA. Check in was quick, we had a good chat with the staff at front desk about our trip. The room was large with a view across to the port. Everywhere was spotless and quiet. The hotel is right on the front and near shops and plenty of places to eat. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on our hotel. I am very pleased to hear you will be a repeat customer of ours in the future if in the area! - Kevin Walker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Really nice mid-range hotel. All of the staff were great. Sometimes the people who work the hardest get the least thanks. The person who cleaned our room did an excellent job. Also, valet personnel were super polite. Overall great experience. If you are sensitive to noise, I would recommend bringing a small white noise machine or fan with you. Rooms are close to one another so showers in adjoining rooms were noisy. Early room cleaning and sound of vacuum woke us way too early.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Sonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff at our hotel. I am sorry to hear the housekeepers woke you up the morning you were with us. We get a lot of requests for early checkin's and it becomes a real balancing act when trying to avoid disturbing in-house guests! I hope to have your business back again next time. - Kind Regards, Kevin Walker GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our rating is 3.5 stars. We paid $309/night including taxes in the summer - you are paying for the location more than anything.

Again, the Old Port location is the selling point - you can walk everywhere (delicious bakery, Standard Bakery, is next door) and when you get tired retreat to your room. Room was clean and pretty well maintained (small hole in one of the sheets; cracked and missing grout in the bathroom; shower faucet required some work to turn completely off). Staff was friendly but restricted by the rules - we would love to have had an early check-in (and would willing have paid for this service) but the hotel does not offer it. Convenient coin washer and dryer laundry room on site. Lap pool looked good but the temp of the enclosed room was 85 degrees - felt more like a sauna so we passed on this. Did not try the restaurant since Portand has so much good food nearby - wish they had ala carte for the breakfast (we are not buffet people) - but all they could offer ala carte was the cold items. Free shuttle to the airport.

Biggest issue we had was noise - you can hear everyone talking/walking in the hallway and at night the boom-boom-boom of the bar across the street. We were on the 4th floor (good view of harbor) so I was surprised we could still hear the bass pounding. They need to insulate/sound-proof the rooms more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to fill out a Trip Advisor review. I am sorry to hear that it was a "noisy" night in Portland. I can understand that it would be frustrating to hear the sounds of neighboring bars that late at night. We will take your suggestion under consideration, though it is not a complaint we hear very often. I was pleased to see you had good interactions wtih our staff. We hope to see you again soon! - Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101-4703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $162 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing