We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
austin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed on a booked May weekend, and everything was just fine. Our rooms was near the elevator and I was afraid to hear noise in the halllway in the early morning hours and didn't. The staff was very friendly and helpful. You can walk everywhere downtown. Did have to pay for valet parking, no parking lot, that is a disadvantage...but we put the car away until we left! Hotel is modern...clean...we paid for a view of the bay...and found it worth it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank austingolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a trip advisor review. I am glad you enjoyed the Harbor View room and thought it was well worth the upgrade fee. We are very fortunate to be located in a great spot on the water. Hope to see you again soon! - Kevin Walker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    406
    83
    19
    13
See reviews for
307
592
46
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I am a Maine native. I enjoy getaways with girl friends to just re-charge the Mommy spirit. This hotel is one of my favorites to stay. It is near to the Casco Bay Lines. Just steps outside the front door! Spend the night, catch a sunrise cruise and soak in all that salt air has to offer. Amazing front desk employees and Old Port flair...who could need more? Great place to spend the night after a Portland Sea Dogs game!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Being a parent of two, I can fully understand the need to recharge our "parent batteries"! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the city of Portland and had some kind words about my hotel. We hope to see you again soon! - Kevin Walker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed 2 nights recently for a weekend getaway to Portland. This hotel has a fantastic central location in Old Port, walking distance to loads of shops, restaurants and the wharf is right across the street. We paid $227/night for a 2 queen bed room on the 6th floor.

This property is a fine example of what large American chain hotels do very well: everything is big, clean and comfortable. Our room was huge and spotless. Beds were very comfortable, tons of pillows, soft white sheets and duvet covers. Large flat screen TV, desk with data ports and ergonomic chair, sofa, fridge, microwave, coffee maker. Plenty of outlets for charging devices, and excellent free wifi. The bathroom was also large, good tub/shower with excellent water pressure, wide granite vanity, lots of fluffy white towels. Amenities were a mixture of Neutrogena and Bath & Body Works. Good hairdryer, full size iron & ironing board, plenty of hangers in the closet.

We had no view to speak of (parking lot) but I hadn't booked an ocean view room so that was ok. The decor is unremittingly beige, but everything was very clean and new-looking. The doors to the rooms can be very loud if allowed to slam shut on their own, which caused a bit of an early-morning noise issue for us, and we're not light sleepers.

Breakfast is not included but for $12/pp, all you can eat hot and cold buffet, with cooked to order items as well, it's a great deal. Breakfast is served till noon on weekends, so we were able to sleep as late as we wanted.

I wish they didn't charge $15/night for valet parking, when there is no other parking option available. However, the service was good. We had dinner reservations on the very rainy Friday evening. Rather than try to extract our car from the parking garage, the front desk called a cab for us. When the cab was very late, they stayed in touch with the cab company and told us our fare would be comped. When the cab still hadn't arrived with 5 minutes to go till our reservation, the hotel had one of the valets drive us to our restaurant in their airport shuttle SUV. We made it in time and in comfort. Very nice display of concern for guest satisfaction.

We looked at the pool and fitness area but didn't use them. Both looked great, though small. I might have tried the pool but the chlorine smell was absolutely overwhelming.

All in all I would recommend this hotel if you're looking for a comfortable base for your stay.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryetuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and we are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! - Kevin Walker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Islands, Washington
Level Contributor
321 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Third time here. Can't beat the location. In spite of a corner spot in the busiest part of the wharf-city center, very quiet inside. Sumptuous suite corner room on 5th floor filled with sunlight, wonderfully cool and quiet central air in 90 degree outside temp. Best restaurant in town (Fore Street) is out the front door and about 100 steps through the parking lot to the front door of the restaurant. Amazingly we had an upgrade to the suite we occupied without asking for it. Very smily people at the desk the whole time we were there. Prices are racing upwards, though, as the regular double premium room has about doubled in the last 15 months. But well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to fill out a trip advisor review. It sounds like you had a great to trip to Portland and the weather was very summer-like for you! Hope to see you again soon! - Kevin Walker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, MA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times, and am less impressed every time. The rooms are noisy, the hotel staff doesn't do much to make you feel welcome, and it's more expensive than the other comparable hotels in the Old Port. On the plus side, the location is great, right on Commercial Street, easy walk to all the great things the Old Port has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. It appears as though we missed the mark with your stay and I am happy to speak with you further on this matter so we can bring this to a resolution. -Kevin Walker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a tour of New England. Our experience began at check in as I was welcomed as the hotel's 'Guest of the Day'. I don't know what criteria this was decided on, but it was a very welcome surprise and enabled us to choose two free things from a list. We chose to have free parking (saving $15) and one free breakfast (saving another $12). We were also put in what has to be the best room in the hotel, on the corner of the top floor overlooking the whole harbour area.

I'd booked a suite room (although I hadn't remembered what I'd booked when we checked in), but on entering the room we were absolutely astonished. We had a sitting area with a 42" TV and large sofa and a dining table for 8 people! The large separate bedroom had a king size bed and a 37" TV and the equally huge bathroom had a large bath tub and a separate large walk in shower. As I said, the views were stunning.

The location of the hotel is by the water front with plenty of dining and drinking options nearby. The hotel bar and restaurant, where we had breakfast, were very good. The breakfast had plenty of choice and although not free it was certainly a cut above the free offerings at other Hilton chains.

However, a special mention has to be made of the staff who were excellent. Everyone we encountered, from the check in staff to the valet, bar staff, restaurant staff and maids were friendly and efficient and they all made the effort to say hello and offer a smile. A real credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: The corner room on the top floor is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stu_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out a trip advisor review on our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! - Kind Regards, Kevin Walker GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Loved Portland and loved the Hilton Garden Inn. Staff very friendly, accommodations were centrally located. Looking forward to our next trip/stay there. We picked a perfect weekend to visit. Weather was outstanding and went weekend before labor day. So crowds were not an issue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
3 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We are pleased to hear your enjoyed for first experience to Portland & to the Hilton Garden Inn Porltand Downtown Waterfront! Portland has so much to offer as a city and I think you picked a beautiful time of the year to come and visit. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to fill out a review for us. - Kevin Walker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101-4703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing