We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Nearby Hotels
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay(Portland)(Great Value!)
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa(Portland)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront(Portland)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port(Portland)(Great Value!)
$226
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ramada Plaza Portland(Portland)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$224
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Westin Portland Harborview(Portland)(Great Value!)
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Portland Harbor Hotel(Portland)(Great Value!)
$179
$149
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$197
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,592)
Filter reviews
1,592 results
Traveler rating
1,011
451
97
19
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,011
451
97
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfront deskold portvalet parkingstandard baking companystandard bakerywithin walking distancecasco bay linescommercial streetwater viewferry terminaldowntown waterfrontvalet servicedirectly across the streetbreakfast buffetfore streetshops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
1,229 - 1,234 of 1,592 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn. It is located within easy walking distance to most everything in Portland. The staff were ALL extremely friendly and helpful and the room was large and clean. We will stay again on our next trip to Portland.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tfordfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

One night stay at the Waterfront HGI. I am Hilton gold. Overall excellent facility and well run. Valets - very good, quick and personable. they sent me to the perfect restaurant one block away. Front desk - outstanding. Very pleasant, cheerful and accomodating. Bar - reasonable prices, very comfortable. (Note the airport HGI i submitted a negative review as they overcharge for cocktails at their "bar"). This facility understands their clientel and it is obvioius management from the top down is paying attention to detals.
Great location - can walk to restaurants and dont miss the bakery next door!!

I will return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBF6288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is wonderfully situated for walking around the old port. Great shops and restaurants. In fact, our favorite dinner spot, Fore Street, overlooks the back parking lot of the hotel. A two minute walk. In the same parking lot is the Standard Baking Company--fabulous breads, pastries and coffees, which we brought back and ate in the lobby with our morning papers.
Very nice staff, front desk, room cleaners, and excellent parking valets. All very cheerful and helpful, as evyone in Portland seems to be. It is also full of dog lovers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We did a quick getaway in Portland and chose Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront for our Friday night stay. We have been here before and were looking forward to a return stay. Valet was very pleasant even though he was working outside in bitterly cold temps. We rushed inside and were promptly greeted at the desk and told we had received an upgrade! She teased by saying we should find out for ourselves, and what a lovely room it is! Corner suite, room 618, overlooking the harbor. Beautiful at night, and splendid in the morning sunshine. Large living room, huge king bedroom, and deluxe bath also huge!
We unpacked ant went for a cocktail at the bar. Dennis set us up well, my Cosmo with fresh lime juice was perfect. As we chatted we told him about our dinner reservation, and he went to check on the address of the restaurant. While he was gone he arranged for the hotel shuttle to take us. A few minutes later the driver came to the bar to arrange for the time so that he could accommodate several guests, excellent service. We were able to call the shuttle to pick us up after dinner too. Dennis left our check open for a nightcap, and he was a great guy to talk to, a really terrific server with guests always in mind. Breakfast is good, fresh bakery items and breads from local bakeries apparently.
Overall, this was an excellent stay, great service, terrific location, and WOW what a sweet suite!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank debonvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times and keep coming back. It's a very comfortable hotel on Commercial St. right next to the yummy Standard Baking Company. Easy walking to lots of great shops and restaurants. The staff is quite friendly and the rooms are small, but very nice. We've stayed elsewhere in Portland and come back here when we can. The last time we went to Portland we simply couldn't get an affordable room at the Hilton and in fact, many times we've considered coming the rates of been extremely high and we've skipped the trip. This time I booked several months in advance and prepaid. That seems to be the best way to ensure a room that is affordable.

We opt not to eat here. It may be fine now, but on our last trip we found it expensive and not very good. It just wasn't worth it (as is often the case with Hilton Garden Inns breakfast fare). There are places within walking distance to get a better breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwg01776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews