We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, even better service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Chose this hotel for a 3-night family stay in Portland. The location is fantastic: right on Commercial Street, which runs along Portland's harbor. Like I said, perfect location.

But what you CAN'T tell from a map is how fantastic the people are. I've never stayed at this chain before, so don't know how widespread the service quality might be. But these folks act like they work at the Four Seasons. )And trust me, I've stayed at the Four Seasons. This was not my first rodeo.)

The moment we arrived, the parking valets jumped out of their shoes to help. Friendly, warm, welcoming, etc. We stepped inside to find the same attitude at the front desk. Not just flight-attendant smiles, but genuinely warm greetings. Like they really WERE happy to have us.

One ridiculous example of how they operate: our room clock was an hour off, and could only be adjusted by unscrewing the bottom panel. So on my way out, I asked someone at the desk to please have it fixed. Upon my return, it was. No biggie, right?

Right. Until the next morning when we received a hand-written note from the manager apologizing for the inconveniences of the clock being wrong and the need to make a service call. And for our "troubles", she gave us a coupon for free breakfast for the entire family. ALL BECAUSE WE ASKED THEM TO ADJUST THE CLOCK!!!

One evening when we were having dessert in the lobby, Patty (?) stepped out from behind the desk and walked over just to ask how we were, how we were enjoying our trip, etc. Again, unprompted, unexpected, unnecessary courtesy. The definition of warm, welcoming service.

I'm no VIP. I don't have a million Hilton Honors points. I made this reservation through Expedia, so they had no reason to think I deserved any special attention. But they acted like I was a 5-star guest in a 5-star hotel. Really extraordinary.

All this for a $199/night hotel, a price comparable to several other choices in town during the July high season. But I don't believe for a minute I would have received this level of service at any of the other properties.

The hotel itself is quite nice. Large, clean comfortable rooms, nice bar and lobby, good hot/cold breakfast buffet (free for kids). What you'd expect at the nicer end of this category, in what feels like a pretty new property.

But the service was unexpected, in every way imaginable.

On my next trip to Portland, I won't consider staying anywhere else. And on my next trip anywhere, I'll be sure to see if there's a Hilton Garden Inn in the area. I'm very curious to see if this stay was evidence of a great property, or a great chain.

Room Tip: It's not a very tall property, maybe six stories. The upper floors are more likely to offer natu...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajeske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,486)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,193 - 1,199 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I were in Portland for one night this past Sunday and chose this Hilton Garden Inn because it was on the waterfront. The location is fabulous and the hotel is in great shape. I've stayed at other Hilton Garden Inn's both with the kids and on business and really like this chain. This one was the nicest one we've stayed in. It has the feel of a more upscale hotel. I read some complaints about the price and really can't comment on that because we used our Hilton Honors points. The room was spacious and comfortable. I will say the bathroom/shower had a slight mildew smell but it was not that bad. All in all I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kkoplon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were really pleased with the friendly service- quick check in, and we also received a knock at the door soon after we were in the room, with housekeeping checking in to make sure the room was to our liking. We also received a telephone call later on in the day to make sure we were satisfied. This was all a first for us! Our kids (ages 7 and 9) loved the indoor pool- they swam there for hours. The beds (and pillows!) were amazing, and we had a great nights sleep. The hotel lobby was very nice, and we hung out and relaxed there for a few hours one of the nights. Everyone was friendly and accomodating. And a fantastic spot! Right near all of the shopping and restaurants! A special thank you to Aaron for being so helpful-I'm sure that Hilton Garden Inn knows how lucky they are to have you!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice hotel but too pricey. Though located on Commerical, other hotels one street over are just as convenient, cost less, sleep the same and provide breakfast. Next time we'll stay one street over and save $$. I gave 3 stars because it was a very nice hotel but way overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank govtmule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

rather stiff rate but it was booked fully. rooms are nice std chain hotel. it has a real fridge [better], no mini bar. microwave and hair dryer. the a/c is on a program. at night it changes to a warmer temp. this part sucks. you wake up in a sweat, for this kind of coin it should stay set cold if that is the way i want it. cheapo corporate guys. breakfast buffett for $12 bucks is a good deal. everbody was nice.

Room Tip: if you are driving it is $15 to park your car plus tip.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Downtown waterfront location, very convenient, clean, great service, friendly and the best of all, pet friendly. There is a modest one time pet fee of $50 which covers as many nights as you stay. There are walking trails close by, a beach for the dogs. Location is directly downtown with access to many pubs and restaurants. No need to use the car. Easy walking distance to the Ferry which goes over to Peaks Island which is a great place to walk and have lunch. No car required as you can walk or rent a bicycle. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clancydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

A one night stay on the way up to bar harbor provided an ideal location to valet park, throw the luggage in the roon and wander around the small waterfront area interspersed with restaurants. Hotel was ideally situated, clean with friendly staff. A good overnight choice.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank wanderingmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101-4703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $161 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing