We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun to look at the boats” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DiMillo's Old Port Marina

DiMillo's Old Port Marina
Ranked #12 of 141 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bailey Island ME
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun to look at the boats”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Dream of owning a boat. This is a nice digression from the shopping in the old port. See how the other half lives and watch the fishermen come in from a days work, too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    175
    63
    18
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Storrs, Connecticut
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A pretty safe bet for a decent meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We ate here about five years ago, and I remember the meal being much better, but then again, maybe we had an off night. Or maybe, it's not what it used to be...locals would be the judge of that. We had mixed meals, I don't eat seafood, and maybe that's what people should stick to here because most of our party of eight or so enjoyed their seafood. The steaks needed sauce to put on them, and were not great. The service was good when we had our server's attention, we had some gaps in service for whatever reason. One person didn't get served their dessert (not great when it's the one footing the bill, that booked the reservation). Overall, average, not horrible.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CTSCOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ship Wrecked in Portland”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a clip joint of the worst order. Food was really sub par. Had a surf and turf... The lobster was small, tough & tasteless. The filet alongside was previously frozen and was coated with a pre packaged demi glaze. Slow service with a staff who could care less about making your visit memorable.

If you like nursing home food along with a depressing atmosphere, this place is for you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dinner on a boat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

At night the restaurant is lit up and has a festive atmosphere. The service is excellent for such a crowded restaurant. The food is not among most memorable Italian fare we've had, so I would not give it a "very good". Perhaps the waterfront location on a boar is the big draw, especially later at night. During our stay in another part of Maine, we met a young couple from Portland and they called it a "tourist trap."
This was before we went and I have to say this was an accurate assessment.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank nlanoue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

With all of the excellent seafood in Portland I do not understand why people would choose to come here. I suppose there is the novelty for some to eat on a boat but really walk half a block in any direction and there are infinitely better, more creative and more competitively priced seafood.

We never would have gone here unless a family member had wanted to spend their birthday here. The food was fine but nothing outstanding. It was overpriced and I prefer the seafood shacks at the beach which have the same food are better priced. Nothing stood out on the menu - it was just really the same old seafood you can find in other places. Being in the Old Port there are far better places to spend your time and money. DiMillo's is just average.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank itktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DiMillo's Old Port Marina also viewed

 

Been to DiMillo's Old Port Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing