We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely get-away”
Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #3 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
“A lovely get-away”
Reviewed February 22, 2011

My husband and I came up to Portland for just one night and as soon as we stepped inside the Inn on Carleton I wish I had made reservations for 2 nights instead. Buddy and his colleagues were very hospitable, the room was perfectly made, and breakfast was delicious and the perfect amount of food. We have already talked about going back this summer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    51
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
492
30
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Buddy is a FABULOUS innkeeper -- our breakfast this morning should have been on the cover of Gourmet magazine. We stayed in Room 3- huge King Size bed and great bathroom -- slept like babies!!! Buddy had so much great info to share along with the history of the West End of Portland. We had a wonderful stay!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Looking for a weekend of pure nothingness and great food, my boyfriend and I booked Valentine's weekend at the Inn on Carleton. Room 1 was exactly what I needed, complete with claw-foot bathtub for my sought-after bubble bath. Buddy cooks up some spectacular breakfasts (e.g., French toast souffle), but it was hard to choose between staying in the divinely comfortable bed and going down to pamper the taste buds. The Inn is conveniently located 15 minutes walk from the Old Port area and all of the spectacular dining that has made Portland a foodie destination. We will definitely be back to the Inn on Carleton for more relaxation in the years to come.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amichun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We could not have chosen a better place to stay in Portland... The owner, Buddy, was charming and very helpful, and had a number of great dining and sightseeing recommendations for us when we asked. Our room was warm, comfortable, and looked newly updated. We slept fabulous on a large queen bed with soft linens, and had a huge bathroom with a clawfoot tub and private shower. There were warm cookies, coffee, and cocoa available all night in the lobby. The location was perfect, tucked in a quiet neighborhood but only a short walk to downtown Portland (we suggest the Art Museum on Friday, it's free after 5:00 PM and has a surprisingly large collection). Breakfast rounded out a perfect evening, homemade scones, granola, and blueberry bread french toast... needless to say, we are already planning our trip back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatEatsPelham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

My husband and I had a great stay at the Inn On Carleton. It was so relaxing. Our room was so comfortable and cozy and the gas fireplace added to the ambience. Buddy is a great host. We had delicious brownies and cookies on the afternoon of our arrival and a delicious breakfast in the morning. Buddy was a great host. Wish we had stayed longer. We are planning to return!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteMountainsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much--not only is Portland a great town--the Inn on Carleton was a great place to stay.

Buddy was an excellent host who made us feel at home.

The breakfast was excellent and the recently renovated rooms displayed the owner's love and care.

On a more practical note, we were supposed to stay two nights but were unable to do so. Buddy didn't penalize us for the missed night, which I truly appreciated and displayed his character.

I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJcouple3M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I went to Portland for a weekend getaway, and the Inn on Carleton was a great home base. From the lovely welcoming note (we got in very late) to the chocolate chip cookies left out every night, everything about the Inn was warm, easygoing and relaxed in all the best ways. We only made it down for breakfast one of the mornings we were there, but that breakfast stands out as one of my favorite meals of the weekend. The blueberry french toast was just divine, and Buddy was a wonderful host.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from most of the shops and restaurants downtown. This wasn't a bother at all, as Portland is a lovely city, but you should definitely bring walking shoes!

I have nothing but good things to say about Buddy and the Inn on Carleton. If you're looking for a B&B experience, this is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTL212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,370 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Property: Inn On Carleton
Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing