We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay @ the IOC”
Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #4 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely stay @ the IOC”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I only had one evening and morning with the Inn on Carleton, but in that time, we were treated like family. Leo & Patty, for only being B&B owners for a few weeks, really know how to make you feel at home. Patty's breakfast was delicious! Croissant french toast stuffed with cream cheese, definitely a delicious way to start the day. We also very much appreciated the afternoon/evening cookies for a snack with the wide assortment of teas!

The room was beautiful, and very comfy. You definitely say "wow" when you walk into the room.

My only snippet is that the bed was a little firm for my liking. Normally beds are more in the middle between firm and soft, but this one was quite firm! The bathroom was lovely, but a little tight. Obviously, it's not something that can be changed! Just saying, it was quite tight!

Overall, a very lovely experience.

Room Tip: We were in room 5 up on the third floor, and it was a very nice room, although the bathroom was tiny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    49
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
483
30
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I could not have stayed in a more perfect place. Beautiful rooms, quiet, comfortable, great location in the nicest part of town. Easy walk to a variety of good restaurants. The hosts, Leo and Patricia we're very helpful and the breakfasts were wonderful. Patricia is a great cook. I would love to visit Porland again just so I could stay here.

Room Tip: I liked room1,3 and 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Leo & Patty , the new innkeepers, are wonderful hosts. They are very friendly and take good care of you. We had very comfortable, clean , and charming room. Free Wi-Fi. Great breakfast!! We think this Inn is in a great location. We walked to the Portland waterfront where there are plenty of shops and great restaurants. It's an ideal location for us because our daughter and her husband recently moved back to Portland. Their apartment is less than a mile from the Inn. We definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchantville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
212 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Since I booked the room on March 16th, the inn has changed hands. We had a very nice stay. The breakfast was very good. The room was quiet and comfortable. The inn keepers were very nice and seeming like they are trying to adjust to this new way of life. They are doing well! The only concerns I had were that we were not guaranteed parking and had to park on street 2 hour max parking. Also the West End is driving distance from Downtown, so we had to drive and pay for parking in the Downtown area. It was a bit of an inconvenience for what we were looking for, as tourists.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishhadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed just one night passing through town and would definitely go back. Warm, welcoming staff, comfortable and very attractive room, and great breakfast cooked to order. The coffee cake was really delicious and it was very nice to have the choice of a lighter breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt, and homemade granola. Thoughtful touches like snacks and bottled water in the dining room also much appreciated. A lovely, if quick, stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mchollander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is our second year in a row staying at this Inn. Cindy, the manager is fantastic. She remembered us from last year and made us feel right at home. She is truly the heart and soul of the Inn. You could not meet a more gracious and welcoming person. She knows her Portland and is great with the recommendations. Our room was quiet and spacious and very comfortable. We are already booked for next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank castlefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2014

this was a break for us from the hustle and bustle of life. we only drove a couple of hours but it seemed like it was another world. the rooms were very nice and the inn keepers bent over backwards to make us feel at home. the breakfast here is not to be missed !! The aroma of breakfast permeates the hallway on the way downstairs. i can't wait untill my wife and i return the next time. choose this place and enjoy your stay

Room Tip: room #6 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtconc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Property: Inn On Carleton
Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing