We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet time for us”
Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #4 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quiet time for us”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

this was a break for us from the hustle and bustle of life. we only drove a couple of hours but it seemed like it was another world. the rooms were very nice and the inn keepers bent over backwards to make us feel at home. the breakfast here is not to be missed !! The aroma of breakfast permeates the hallway on the way downstairs. i can't wait untill my wife and i return the next time. choose this place and enjoy your stay

Room Tip: room #6 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtconc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    51
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
497
30
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We have stayed at a number of inns in Portland, and the Inn on Carleton is the one to which we will return. It's a stately building, in a quiet neighborhood, lined with beautiful old trees. Cindy, the manager met us at the door and from there on, she helped us get settled and couldn't have been more accommodating We stayed in Room 1 which was lovely and had an attached large bathroom. Having a quiet and comfortable night's sleep is always an important part of an overnight for us, and the Inn provided all of that. Out back, there is a lovely little garden and patio where we took our coffee and paper the next morning and planned the rest of our day. In summary, a beautiful place, great location, warm and helpful staff, oh, and a great breakfast! What more could you ask for?.

Room Tip: Room ! was quiet and by 3pm when we checked in, the sun had moved around so the room was a bit dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed three nights in early June. The inn is is a fabulous neighbourhood of Portland with many facilities close by. As others have said it's a 15-20 minute walk to the port area. The innkeepers are friendly and accommodating and made us feel very welcome. We loved our room on the top floor (the blue room), which was very comfortable. Breakfasts are indeed very good with really quality ingredients and plenty of choice. There were always water, juices and snacks available which we also appreciated. This was a great introduction to Portland.

Room Tip: Bear in mind the long flights of steps when selecting your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had great time at the Inn on Carleton. The owners couldn't have been friendlier. The house is incredible, the garden in the back was peaceful and the breakfast was awesome. It was a great home base for us to explore (and easily walk to) the Old Port district. We were a long way from home (Southern California), but if we ever make it back to Maine, we'll stay here again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

My partner and I married at the Inn last week and rented out the entire place for our family for three nights. We had an incredible time and Buddy, Cindy, Leo, Patty and the entire team went out of their way to make it happy and comfortable stay for us. The Inn is charming and incredible clean. It would be a treat to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Inn is an adorable and quiet place to stay while in Portland. The couple that owns the Inn was very accommodating, making dining suggestions and helping us with our luggage up to our room.

Breakfast was DELICIOUS and served in a dining room where we could visit with other guests if we so chose.

My only regret was that we had to leave so soon! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brihahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Charming guest room, main area and dining room. All very clean and well maintained. Convenient location. Breakfast was beautifully presented and was delicious. We wish we could have stayed more than one night. Leo and Patty were gracious and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauriejls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Property: Inn On Carleton
Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing