We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room, great staff, great location, great. great. great.”
Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #3 of 11 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were so pleased by our stay at the inn. From the beginning (they brought our bags up two flights of stairs for us!!) to the end (the pancakes were the best we've ever had!) this place was amazing. The location is gorgeous and walk-able to everywhere you would want to go in Portland. The inn is beautiful, unpretentious and in the perfect location. The staff was nothing short of amazing. Their helpful attitudes and friendliness would make anyone's trip spectacular. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. and the price is unbelievable! My wife and I can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiekendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 701 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was the best service we have ever had in our life. Cindy (the assistant inn keeper) was one of the most helpful hostesses of any place I have ever stayed, including friends and family. My wife was sick when we first got to the Inn, the next morning they brought breakfast right to the room and made sure she had everything she needed. She was feeling better by noon. On top of this they helped us get a taxi, know how to get around downtown Portland, told us about fun things to do and we genuinely friendly the whole time. They even directed us toward a farmer's market (that had tons of organic food) and told us about all the USDA Organically certified restaurants (of which there are too many to list) in Portland.

The location of the Inn is great. It is just on the eastern end of Old Town, about a 15 minute walk to the water front and sits in a beautiful, quaint and safe little neighborhood. The room was amazing. We stayed in "Room One" (the title on their website innoncarelton.com) and it was awesome. Great size, great bathroom, clean and an unbelievably comfortable bed.

I have never had an experience at a place I have stayed where I want to write the staff a thank you letter and keep in touch, but with this place I do. When we go back to Portland we know where we are staying.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clayton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed one night and had a great experience. The room was lovely and comfortablel; the innkeepers were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious.I loved the neighborhood and enjoyed the walks from the inn to destinations in Portland. I hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraJamaicaPlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at the inn for two nights - it was our first visit to Portland. The inn is beautiful - rooms, as well as common areas are spacious,, elegant and spotless. The inn is located in the west end, on a tree-lined residential street. We walked everywhere - to the arts area as well as the old port. Our hosts were warm and welcoming and breakfast was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 - it was very spacious and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This was our 1st B&B experience and we were very pleased. The inn is historical, charming, elegant, and very well decorated; the fresh flowers throughout provided a lovely touch. Buddy, Leo, and Cindy were all excellent hosts with great ideas for our short time in Portland. Breakfasts were delicious and the Eggs Benedict could have been served at a 5-star restaurant! We loved the whole experience.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HarmoniaRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Large and gorgeous rooms, super friendly and attentive staff, a meticulously maintained property, and a wonderful and delicious breakfast. I have stayed at a lot of B&B's, but this one takes the cake! Simply perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, but all of the rooms appeared to be large and gorgeous! If you have mobi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I recently enjoyed two nights, one at each end of our vacation. We stayed in room 5 and it was lovely. The room is up two flights of stairs and we had no trouble getting our luggage up to the room. The entire inn is very clean and beautifully decorated. There were lots of great little touches, including the beverages and snacks in the dining room. The breakfasts were filling and delicious! The french toast was my husband's favorite of our entire trip.

We only saw Buddy very briefly, as he was preparing breakfast. But we loved meeting Cindy and getting to chat with her. She is very welcoming and wants everyone to have a wonderful stay. We would recommend anyone visiting Portland to stay at the Inn On Carleton.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,533 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Francis
The Francis
#15 of 21 in Portland
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Park Spring
The Inn at Park Spring
#4 of 11 in Portland
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $140 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing