We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn On Carleton
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port(Portland)(Great Value!)
$144
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ramada Plaza Portland(Portland)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
$157
Hampton.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa(Portland)(Great Value!)
$139
$135
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Portland Harbor Hotel(Portland)(Great Value!)
$126
Official Hotel
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin Portland Harborview(Portland)(Great Value!)
$157
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront(Portland)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$146
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveler rating
640
55
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
640
55
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspastryb bbreakfast was deliciouseggs benedictgreat hostswest endold porta wonderful stayeach morningelectric fireplacetwo nightsdvd playerthird floornew englandhomemade granolaquiet neighborhoodbed and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
354 - 359 of 705 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My fiance and I treated ourselves to a Portland getaware on a chilly April weekend. We decided to stay at the Carlton and we are so happy we did! The staff are the warmest, friendliest and hospitable people you would ever expect at a B&B. This made for an absolutely wonderful stay!

The rooms are what you would expect at a B&B: older, small, interesting features (sink in the bedroom instead of the bathroom), but everything is very clean and cozy. If you are looking for modern ammenities, then head to a hotel downtown. If you are looking for charm, this is your spot.

Breakfast was to die for! I especially liked that there were small tables so that you and your travel mates could sit together and alone, versus a large table with the rest of the guests. The food was excellent and creative, something different each morning.

The location of this B&B is slightly outside the downtown area, you're not right in the action. In the summertime I would say it's a nice walk to alot of the sites (about 15-20 minutes), but in the fall, spring and winter I would take your car or a taxi downtown. Either way, it's a very safe area and you are ok to walk at night. There are plenty of great restaurants close by to have dinner. When they recommended a thai place, we thought, why would we eat thai in Maine?! Must only have lobster! But boy was this the best thai ever! So check it out.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giulianova84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Inn is a beautiful building conveniently located near the centre of town. Buddy and Cindy are great hosts - they are both welcoming and friendly. Our room was lovely and clean, a great place to relax. Breakfast was delicious and the 24hr access to baked treats and tea/coffee was also very nice. We would definitely recommend.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Maria-Tim03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Inn was clean, neat, cozy, and comfy. Amazing breakfast. Fabulous selection of treats & bottled water 24/7. Super yummy homemade chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon. Buddy & Cindy are super kind & friendly & helpful & full of lots of energy. (We thought that maybe Cindy was a little too chatty & cheerful, but then decided that it was 100x better than the quiet, non-friendly innkeeper at our next stop.) Wish it was in the heart of downtown, but luckily not too far.

Room Tip: It was a heat wave, upper 90's, when we were there. We like it super cool for sleeping. Wish we would have asked them to cool the room down before we arrived. We arrived after dinner. It was fine after a few hours.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbategocubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the end of July and really enjoyed it. Buddy Marcum is a terrific host! Our room (#3) was roomy, A/C equipped, well-appointed and had a very comfortable king-size bed. The large tiled bathroom with a european style shower is off the hallway but private to the room and offers some lovely amenities such as a bath robe for each guest! We found all the common areas to be beautifully decorated, inviting and spotless. We delighted in the delicious breakfast choices and really appreciated having water, snacks, tea and a refrigerator with popsicles and bottled water always available. The garden in the back is beautiful and expertly designed and tended. There are chairs and umbrella tables and it is makes for a lovely secluded spot to sit and enjoy a summer evening. We will recommend this B&B to all our friends and will make it our special place to stay when we are in Portland!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amkess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was our second time at the Inn. We stayed there over a year ago and couldn't wait to return. Cindy remembered us right away even though she meets tons of new guests all of the time! We love her! The Inn is located in a great part of town, walkable to everything you'd want to do. The common areas are clean and comfortable and inviting, with snacks and drinks always available. The rooms well-appointed with every modern comfort you could want, including A/C in the summer! Breakfast is outstanding, but even on the days when we had to leave early and miss breakfast, Cindy and Jen got up early to make us coffee and toast. This is probably our favorite B&B we've ever stayed in. We recommend this place to all of our friends, and we look forward to visiting again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kels2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews