We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Classy West End Bed & Breakfast”
Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #4 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, Classy West End Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed for 1 night in March. This Inn is a great place to stay in Portland. It's on a quiet street, with easy parking. The rooms are very comfortable and well furnished. Breakfast was great. and Buddy (owner) and Cindy (assistant innkeeper) are both very friendly welcoming. It's within walking distance of a few great restaurants. I highly recommend staying here if you want something other than a hotel and like the West End.

Room Tip: I like the 3rd (top) floor, only because I don't like hearing footsteps above me. Rooms 4, 5 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhode Island G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    51
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
486
30
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upton, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Positive is an understatement....The presentation, accomadation, the general feeling of the property and the warm, friendly personality of both the Innkeeper and his staff. It was a great experience and not only would I recomend it to other's but i would go back myself in a heartbeat !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregTrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Beautiful Inn, warm hospitality, delicious breakfast and cookies!!! We truly enjoyed our two night stay at one of the nicest Inns I have visited. The room was very clean, had gorgeous furniture and very bright and warm. The sitting room and dining area was also very cheerful and all of the staff were very pleasant and accomodating. If we are back in Portland, I will definitely stay here again. It was a nice walk to the downtown area in a quiet part of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gret j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Inn on Carleton for 2 nights in March. The experience was wonderful! Cindy and Heather were so welcoming and helpful with dinner reservations, suggestions on restaurants, and ideas of things to do. We walked around town a lot and appreciated that there were some excellent restaurant choices within a few blocks of the Inn for dinner (since by that time of day we were tired of walking!).

Buddy's breakfasts were amazing - eggs benedict, poached egg/cheese/asparagus on toast - and there was also a granola/yogurt option or eggs cooked to order. My fiancee who normally skips breakfast decided this was too good to pass up and had breakfast both days.

The room was spacious and comfortable (Room 5 on the third floor) with an electric fireplace that added to the charm. The shower stall was a bit on the small side, but that's the only thing I can think to mention that wasn't exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
194 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I selected the Inn on Carelton due to the high rating on Trip Advisor. They were right! Within 15 seconds it was clear that Buddy (owner) wanted to make everything perfect for us. Several days prior to our arrival, he sent an email to us asking if there was anything that he could do to make our visit comfortable. Buddy gave us wonderful restaurant tips and a beautiful route for my morning jog. He even arranged for a special treat for our anniversary. His mother/daughter staff of Cindy and Heather were also phenomenal. Every wish was their pleasure to fulfill. They provided much greater than anticipated service and they were happy to meet my requests for extra helpings at breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, Buddy is a great chef and he prepared a special meal every morning (the best we ever had at a B&B). Our room (#3) was spacious, quiet, and very comfortable. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newengland50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Spent a recent weekend in Portland@ the Inn on Carleton for the 1st time and it exceeded all of our expectations. The Inn is absolutely beautiful and has been restored & updated without losing any of its original charm. Buddy & Cindy are so friendly and helpful. They make you feel so at home & have a wealth of information about restaurants & things to do in Portland. Our room (#1) was so nice & very comfortable. Plenty of room for two; clean with a large bathroom with every amenity. Their attention to detail is amazing. On top of all of this the included gourmet breakfast is delicious and made to order.
We can't wait to return to Portland & will definitely be staying at the Inn on Carleton! !!

Room Tip: We stayed in room#1 which was beautiful & spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Inn on Carleton. It's on a quiet street just outside of Portland's downtown area, so it was a quick 10-20 walk to everything in the Old Port area, and just 3 blocks from some fun restaurants and bars along Congress St.

The room was spacious and the bathroom was fine. We stayed in room 6, and it was weird how much you could hear from the room next door but it was not too disturbing. Everything was fresh and clean.

Cindy and Buddy were lovely hosts: friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the sites and restaurants around town. The breakfasts were tasty, well-done, and thoughtfully prepared with an eye on dietary considerations.

We would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,336 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Property: Inn On Carleton
Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing