We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful”
Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #4 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This B&B is the best one Ive ever stayed in! And Ive stayed in many. Traveled here for an anniversary, and could not have been happier. We stayed in the blue room. It was beautiful. Third floor, tucked away in the corner. Large clean bathroom, double facet shower, small claw tub. It was superb. I loved this place because it has only 6 rooms...a good size if you ask me. It is walking distance to everything, ample parking, and located on a quiet street. The room itself was so fresh, airy, clean, and well decorated. Great nights sleep. The breakfasts are absolutely DELICIOUS. 4 stars. Every morning we started off with a fresh fruit bowl, and each morning there is a different special the chef is making! If you dont like the sounds of that (which may be hard, given that the choices all sound delicious- home made blueberry pancakes, homemade hash with poached eggs and hollidanse sauce with fresh garden herbs?) they can make eggs however you like them. They even had mimosas one morning :) talk about providing a relaxing stress free vacation! The back garden is so beautiful- one of the other couples that stayed here the same weekend got married out the back garden!. So great and fun. The suggestions and recommendations from Buddy and Cindy were SO HELPFUL. Buddy sent us over to Peaks Island, which we had heard nothing about upon arrival! Thankfully, he us there and we had a beautiful, perfect day touring the island on bikes. Cindy helped us make dinner reservations at a local bistro, which was also out of this world. Absolutely wonderful visit, affordable quality stay with really great personable hosts! would return 100% - and intend to on my next trip up to Portland. Thanks Buddy and Cindy!

Room Tip: The blue room is on the top floor, so while you may have to climb an extra set of stairs, its seclud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky31888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    51
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
486
30
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Your hosts' goal at the Inn on Carleton is to give you everything you need to enjoy your trip to Portland, and also to make you wish you could stay longer. Buddy and Cindy are 5-star innkeepers, attentive to your every need, and giving great recommendations for restaurants and places to visit. Breakfast is excellent, The chef made perfect blueberry pancakes, and an exquisite egg strata on 2 of the mornings we were there. The house has been renovated beautifully, and is on a quiet street. What really made the stay enjoyable was the Maine charm of Cindy, who truly loves taking care of you, and is so interesting and friendly, and makes you feel right at home. Would not even dream of staying anywhere else when returning to Portland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We recently overnighted at this lovely inn. We had three rooms all of which were comfortable, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was excellent and we were given a choice of eggs if we didn't want what was being served. The location is perfect, close to town but not on a busy street. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangojammin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed here for two nights over a weekend. The hotel is in the West End, about a 15- to 30-minute walk to downtown or the Old Port, depending on how quickly you walk. Buddy was super friendly when we checked in and was always willing to help us by recommending great local restaurants and things to do.

We stayed in Room #3, which was at the top of the stairs on the second floor. Despite being in in a location that got a lot of foot traffic, we didn't have any trouble with noise from people passing by. One window overlooked the street (not much traffic) and the other overlooked the backyard (we could hear the fountain gurgling in the evenings). The only downside to this room was that the bathroom was not en suite. It was connected via a private hallway, so the room was closed off from the rest of the inn, but there was also a stairwell (I think it was used by the maids, as it connected to old servants' quarters) that connected to the private hallway. So, a little less private than ideal, but we never ran into anyone going up/down those stairs so it wasn't an issue.

All in all, this was a great place to stay for the money. The decor was lovely and everything was clean, and I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacythefluter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampstead, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I recently stayed at Inn on Carleton with my husband for one night. We stayed in room 2 which is bigger than it looks in the pictures on the Inn's website. Everything about our stay was great! The Inn is in a quiet part of town, which is perfect if you're looking for a peaceful stay, which we were. Our room was clean, everyone there was so nice and accommadating, and the breakfast was unbelievable! We loved the way the breakfast room was set up, the coffee, breakfast itself (eggs benedict with a house made salmon cake under the egg!) and the fresh made sorbet to finish it off! Cindy was so sweet and informative, Buddy was wonderful, and the chef made us the perfect breakfast to start us on our day. We were sad to leave and are looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

... Just stayed at the Inn on Carleton last week. Good location, nice older renovated building and big, comfortable beds. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Inn on Carleton while in Portland looking for wedding venues. Honestly if the inn were bigger we'd probably just have Buddy put on the wedding for us. Not only was the inn beautiful and quaint, but the service was impeccable. Buddy offered excellent suggestions for dinner (Petite Jacqueline was incredible) and was always offering to help. He even gave us his personal travel mugs to take on a day trip when they were out of disposable cups. The food was great and our room was fantastic. I will be urging our guests to stay here during the wedding and any visit to Portland will involve us staying at the Inn on Carleton. Thank you Buddy and staff for an incredible trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,333 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Property: Inn On Carleton
Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing