We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience at the Inn on Carleton!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #4 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westbrook, Maine
2 reviews
“Wonderful experience at the Inn on Carleton!”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had previously stayed with Buddy at his first inn and when he opened this new one, we wanted to try this as well. We were not disappointed. The rooms were large and very well appointed - comfort was the theme!! We had a fabulous breakfast the next morning. I would definitely recommend the Inn on Carleton to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suemcd50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    48
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
480
30
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We arrived for a mid week, two night stay and were warmly greeted by Buddy. We were shown to our room and he carried our baggage up the stairs for us. Be sure to ask Buddy for his dining recommendations. He recommended my favorite meal of the whole trip. Listen to the man.

The location was great. Parking is notoriously bad downtown but we could park at the inn and walk to our destinations easily. The whole staff was very nice and welcoming and the parlor was comfortable and lovely to look upon.

Our room was well decorated and pleasing to the eye, but on closer inspection was a bit disappointing. Most importantly, there was a lot of dust in the less visible places, under the bed, on the top of the carved headboard and wood furniture. The website claims the room has a fireplace. At first it appeared to be a gas fireplace but it was actually an electric forced air heater with a scrolling cut out light show to give the appearance of flames. Nonetheless it kept the room warm but noisy.

Several reviews I read had high praise for the breakfasts but the food did not live up to my expectations. First, the dining room set up is at once crowded and isolating. There is little maneuvering room in the small area crowded with 2 tops. The noise of other couples chatting is overwhelming and you find yourself jostled and dodging as the diners and waitstaff move through. I would have preferred a large family style seating arrangement; it would be much more quiet and comfortable.

The food is mediocre at best. The only fresh fruit served as garnish alone. The first morning was baked french toast. It was allegedly “stuffed” french toast but I could not decipher any stuffing. It was topped with 3 slices of canned peaches and accompanied with 3 slices of tired looking bacon. Portion sizes were rather small although that was just fine as we were doing a lot of eating around town. The second morning’s offering was a “frittata” an egg casserole littered with bell peppers with home fries and turkey apple sausage. I loathe bell peppers. I requested plain eggs to replace the frittata. My fellow diners looked a little jealous and my husband reported the frittata was fine but dominated by the taste of the peppers. The home fries and sausage were cold and unremarkable.

It was not a bad overall experience, I simply expect a little more from the trip advisor’s number one ranked B&B in town. When we return to Portland, I will seek other accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosegris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b757ac, Owner at Inn On Carleton, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
I am so confused with this review. This guest was a little upset upon checkin due to the fact that the room she wanted a larger deluxe room and we were booked full since she had booked at the last minute. However I helped her and her husband with bags to there room, and then helped with dinner reservations so they could relax . The room they were booked in is a guest favorite. We had just put in a brand new bathroom one week before and I know for sure that room was clean from top to bottom by all of the Inn staff and myself. As for the breakfast we take great pride in what we serve. We always have fresh fruit, yogurts and homemade granola and the entree of the day. We always have eggs to order so guests have a few choices. When she checked out she even wrote in our guest book that the" Inn was a beautiful place!!" We urge any of our guests if they have any issues to please let us know so we can make your stay an enjoyable one for you. The Inn is my pride and joy and do hope the other reviews on tripadvisor show that.
Best Regards
Buddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We had a most fabulous stay at the Inn on Carleton. This has been our New Year's Eve tradition for the last several years. Buddy, the innkeeper, or one of his attentive staff is always on hand to meet your every need. Our tastefully appointed room with fireplace made us feel surrounded with warmth and comfort. After a wonderful night of great rest, we were presented with a delicious breakfast, in the cozy dining room. It started with a pear coffee cake which was followed by Eggs Benedict. The presentation made us each feel special and most welcome. We hated to leave after such awesome hospitality, but we will be back soon for our summer visit. Buddy -your the best!!!!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are most comfortable. We have stayed in #1 and #4
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlofthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfane, Vermont
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

An altogether satisfying experience -- and significantly less expensive than other alternatives in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacRutchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We had an unforgettable experience at the Inn. We arrived late, but were greeted with a personalized note and an open invitation to enjoy cookies or tea all night long. We were also immediately asked if we needed any dinner reservations or help getting around, even though we arrived after hours. Our room was wonderful; warm, cozy, stately yet comfortable. Even though it was chilly outside, the Inn was located a quick and easy walk from downtown. The breakfast was delicious. The amenities were above and beyond our expectations. Every request and detail was happily attended to. And when the innkeeper and staff heard it was my boyfriend's birthday, they made sure to make the experience extra special. The absolute best aspect of the Inn on Carleton is the warm, friendly, and personable staff. They truly made us feel at home, chatted with us like we were old friends, and made our stay exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniC P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

First I need to say sorry to Buddy for being so late with this review. Wanted to get this out sooner. But can see that many have found the many reasons to stay at the Inn On Carleton Clean, Friendly, Warm, Cozy, Great breakfast served well, wonder full rooms ALL are very nice. And a great location. While we were walking to and from our wonderful meal at Caolas (thanks Buddy) it was like walking around a Victorian village with all the christmas lights in the beautiful old homes.This was going to be our special spot every Dec.10th but some one for got to sign up soon enough. There are many Good B&B s in this part of Portland but this one is BEST.

Room Tip: any and all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlefield3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

A beautiful historic inn in the West End of Portland. It's a wonderful location among the beautiful victorian homes in the area. Buddy was a fantastic host and my room was stunning. I could have happily stayed for a week! The breakfast was lovely and made to order. I highly recommend the Inn on Carleton!

Room Tip: Ask Buddy for recommendations on where to eat. Make sure the temperature is good in your room befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viola922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
1,282 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Property: Inn On Carleton
Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing