We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Clarion Hotel(Portland)
$145
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$290
$259
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$206
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$219
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$261
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay(Portland)(Great Value!)
$182
$170
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ramada Plaza by Wyndham Portland(Portland)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveler rating
660
57
6
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
660
57
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspastrybreakfast was deliciousgreat hostswest endquiet streetold porteach morningelectric fireplacedvd playertwo nightsnew englandthird floorb and bbed and breakfastwonderful stayrestaurant recommendationswithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
581 - 586 of 728 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2011

An altogether satisfying experience -- and significantly less expensive than other alternatives in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We had an unforgettable experience at the Inn. We arrived late, but were greeted with a personalized note and an open invitation to enjoy cookies or tea all night long. We were also immediately asked if we needed any dinner reservations or help getting around, even though we arrived after hours. Our room was wonderful; warm, cozy, stately yet comfortable. Even though it was chilly outside, the Inn was located a quick and easy walk from downtown. The breakfast was delicious. The amenities were above and beyond our expectations. Every request and detail was happily attended to. And when the innkeeper and staff heard it was my boyfriend's birthday, they made sure to make the experience extra special. The absolute best aspect of the Inn on Carleton is the warm, friendly, and personable staff. They truly made us feel at home, chatted with us like we were old friends, and made our stay exceptional.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToniC P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

First I need to say sorry to Buddy for being so late with this review. Wanted to get this out sooner. But can see that many have found the many reasons to stay at the Inn On Carleton Clean, Friendly, Warm, Cozy, Great breakfast served well, wonder full rooms ALL are very nice. And a great location. While we were walking to and from our wonderful meal at Caolas (thanks Buddy) it was like walking around a Victorian village with all the christmas lights in the beautiful old homes.This was going to be our special spot every Dec.10th but some one for got to sign up soon enough. There are many Good B&B s in this part of Portland but this one is BEST.

Room Tip: any and all
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlefield3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

A beautiful historic inn in the West End of Portland. It's a wonderful location among the beautiful victorian homes in the area. Buddy was a fantastic host and my room was stunning. I could have happily stayed for a week! The breakfast was lovely and made to order. I highly recommend the Inn on Carleton!

Room Tip: Ask Buddy for recommendations on where to eat. Make sure the temperature is good in your room before you go to bed. You can't control it yourself.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viola922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

It was my first trip to Portland. The Inn is perfectly located for walking visits of the historic downtown area and the great architecture of the city. However, the Inn was exquisitely decorated for Christmas and the morning breakfast was an absolute feast. Regardless, Buddy and the staff are fantastic hosts. We felt more than at home enjoying a most cultivated and relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Each room is great!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews