We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay!”
Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #3 of 11 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Inn on Carleton was exactly what we were looking for... comfy, relaxing, cozy, and an amazing breakfast. Buddy and his staff were exceptionally kind and always offering help or advice on where to go in Portland. We've already recommended the inn to all of our couple friends, and will definitely be back when we need another quick retreat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tubalisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 697 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

We just got back from 2 perfect nights at the Inn on Carleton. Sonya, the owner's assistant is a dream. She's lovely, articulate, warm and welcoming and extremely informed about the city. Our room (#3) on the 2nd floor was large and clean with a very comfortable king-sized bed, a large dresser for our clothes as well as a huge closet with plenty of pants hangers. There's a welcoming letter on the dresser with 3 different "kitkat" baes as well as bottles of water available in the guest refrigerator in the dining room. Every afternoon there were 2 baked treats offered in the dining room. Our bathroom was quite large with a huge walk-in shower. They are ecologically focused with shampoo and liquid soap in wall containers in the shower. There is a garden out back equipped with Adirondack chairs with pillows and an umbrella table with 4 comfortable chairs where we read and checked mail on our iPad (There's WiFi in and outside!).
Both Sonya and Buddy, the thoroughly delightful and warm owner were attentive to every need. Breakfast was a real treat. They have a special main course (blueberry stuffed French toast one day and a baked asparagus/gruyère cheese topped egg on thick multi grain bread, trickled with truffle oil and small tomatoes the second morning. If you prefer, they will make eggs any style and there was always the offer of bacon or sausage, and sliced melon and strawberries were also part of the breakfast plate. We are specific about our coffee tastes (rich and strong) and the inn's coffee is just what we loved. A variety of teas are also available.
We will definitely be back and are already referring friends!
It's an easy walk to a variety of restaurants as well as to the Museum of Art, always a gem.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this lovely B & B in the historic section of Portland for two nights and three delightful days. The Brownstone was wonderful and our hosts were so very customer oriented and helpful. It was within walking distance or a short ride to everything that we needed to do. The staffs' suggestions proved extremely helpful and did I mention the breakfasts? Yummy, yummy, yummy. We'd recommend this Inn to all our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuchsiaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My wife wrote a review earlier (See AML3679) and I must agree with her overall assessment. As far as the "Bed" portion of a B&B, the place is beautiful, charming, and warm. The host, Buddy, and his staff were very friendly, and made sure above and beyond that all our needs were addressed. The residence is tastefully decorated, reflecting much in the charm that a proper B&B of this caliber represents.

As far as the"breakfast" part, my apologies to Buddy about my "frozen waffle" comment. I saw your reply that you make them from scratch. The Belgian waffles were too perfect to appear to be house made! If we had know Maine maple syrup was available, we would have chose that because it's something that we have grown to love, but regular
pancake syrup is still fine in my books.
Unfortunately, for a fine establishment, brown and serve sausage for breakfast is a little too unrefined, which I am sure even professional reviewers would take note. I understand that it may be convenient, but for an elegant breakfast, brown and serves are not that good (in my opinion-others may love them). I find that it distracts from an otherwise wonderful presentation. Too bad most of the B&Bs we stayed at on this travelling vacation served them. They're fine for a busy home, but on a vacation, well... enough said.
Overall, the Inn on Carleton was outstanding except for a couple of bumps in an otherwise stellar breakfast presentation. I would HIGHLY recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mll0628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We spent 2 nights at the Inn on Carleton. All of the praise on this Board for the warmth and attentiveness of Buddy and his staff is 100% accurate. As with most B&B's, there were a few quirks about the rooms (more on that below), but they were more than outweighed by the care and effort that the staff took.

We spent our first night in Room No. 1, on the 2nd Floor and the second in Room No. 5 on the 3rd Floor (because neither was available both nights). Both rooms are charmingly furnished although neither has any sort of desk or table (fine if you are visiting for pleasure but perhaps not if you are on business). Both have queen-size beds; the mattress in Room no. 5 was firmer but no. 2's was acceptable. Linens are comfy; rooms spotlessly clean. Wifi signal was strong in both.

The only negative in the rooms themselves was in air temperature/ airflow, especially in Room 1. Both are equipped with small window air conditioners, but they did not seem very effective (we did not turn them on until we were retiring for the evening; perhaps might have been better if left to run all day). In Room 5, we were nonetheless comfortable, as it is equipped with a ceiling fan centered over the bed. There is no fan in Room 1; the room was so warm overnight that we both had trouble sleeping, even though the outside temperature was probably in the high 60s (perhaps low 70s).

The other quirkiness is in the bathrooms, and in particular the shower facilities. Before going into details, let me state that none of these quirks is unsurprising; short of doing a complete gut of the interior, the biggest challenge for an inkeeper like Buddy is probably accomodating the demand for en suite bathroom facilities, which need to be retrofitted into century-old housing. The bathing facility in Room no. 1 is a small claw-foot tub that is enclosed on all sides by a shower curtain, to which a shower-head has been added. With the curtain drawn and the shower in operation, it is impossible to step away from the water when, for example, you are applying shampoo or conditioner. On the plus, the water pressure was good, as was the temperature controls. In Room no. 5, a small stall shower has been installed into the corner -- it is obvious that this bathroom has been carved out by dividing what had been a larger bathroom, with the other 1/2 of the bathroom now accessible to the adjacent bedroom. The stall shower was somewhat larger than the tub-shower facility in Room no. 1, but it was equipped with 2 small shower-heads installed in each corner, trained on the center of the stall. Water pressure was not as good, and again the arrangement of the 2 heads made it almost impossible to step away from the spray. None of these inconveniences would keep me from returning for another visit, but just mentioning them for those who might care.

Otherwise, the bathrooms were fine. Again, very clean and with a generous supply of thick towels -- 4 bathsheets in our first room, 3 in our second, plus multiple face towels and wash cloths.

As to the food: As with most of the B&Bs in Portland (this is the 4th we've stayed in), the breakfast is served as a 2-course meal -- a 1st course pastry, followed by an "entree." Both mornings the 1st course pastry was very good -- cranberry/orange scones one day and cinammon coffee cake the next. The entrees were fine. And (unlike the other inns where I've stayed in Portland), the server described the entree in advance and offered in the alternative eggs prepared any style plus bacon and/or sausage. Yoghurt and granola cereal were also available. Beverages included the choice of orange or cranberry juice, hot coffee, or tea (and of course water).

Another positive on the food is that snacks are available 24 hours/day -- consisting of fresh-baked goods (when we were there, chocolate chip cookies, brownies, and shortbreads), as well as packages of crackers (e.g. peanut-butter cheese). Also available around the clock are cold bottled water and hot drinks.

Returning to where this review started: Buddy and his assistants bend over backwards to ensure the comfort of the guests. When we arrived, Buddy insisted on carrying our bags up to our rooms, and would have carried them down again on our departure except we had already done so. Buddy is also ready to provide advice and assistance in restaurants and activities.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBA60302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We originally booked after reading the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed! Buddy (the Innkeeper) is passionate about his business and is one of the most genuine individuals I have met in some time. His mission is to ensure that you have a great holiday and everything at the Carleton Inn supports this. Fabulous breakfasts with flexible options, baked snacks, access to a computer if you need it, wireless, comfortable rooms with lots of space, flat screen tv's and the walk to old port and downtown is not bad at all. For us, we enjoyed the neighbourhood feel of the Carleton Inn and its proximity to many interesting restaurants . I believe Buddy and his staff want to exceed your expectations and there is no doubt in my mind why The Inn on Carleton is the #1 B and B in Portland! I was originally looking at the hotels in downtown for our stay but in hindsight staying at the Inn on Carleton was one of the best vacation decisions we made.
We miss the breakfasts and the comforts of the Inn already!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twenty/twenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed here as a weekend getaway. It was incredible. Clean, relaxing, great service and support. Great location (walking distance to the old port or a 5$ cab ride). Very reasonably priced as well. Looking forward to a winter time stay with a fireplace.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mailhotj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,507 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Park Spring
The Inn at Park Spring
#4 of 11 in Portland
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $131 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing