We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the room, breakfast was delicious and the hosts were wonderful.”
Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #4 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed on the third floor and had the most comfortable bed. Buddy was so friendly and accommodating and we awoke to a wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler10201141378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 686 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2011

The Inn completely lived up to the reviews posted earlier. The room (#5) was spacious , comfortable, and immaculate. The bathroom is small,as advertised, and has only a shower, but it was fine. The room is on the third floor and requires climbing two flights of stairs,
but the exercise did us good. Thickly carpeted stairs and hallways made for a quiet stay.
Buddy, the innkeeper, was as warm and gracious as any we have encountered. He is an excellent source of where to eat, shop, or sightsee in the Portland area. Breakfast is delicious, with a different main selection every day,or diners can opt for anything else in the kitchen. The service, like the coffee, was extraordinary.
The Inn is located in an extremely quiet residential neighborhood, but is only 2 blocks from Congress Avenue. We walked to the Port every day,
but taxi service was available everywhere if needed. There was plenty of off-street free parking at the Inn.
This is a truly great inn and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuowl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Buddy and Sonja are genuine, friendly and very helpful. It was a joy to stay at the Inn on Carleton and would not hesitate to stay there again. Breakfast very yummy and nice presentation. Room size good, bed comfortable, quiet for sleeping.

Room Tip: All rooms upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chocoholic50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Extremely friendly staff, great room, a full breakfast of high quality. Overall the best room we stayed in all vacation. We wanted to be in our room more than explore Portland, which is only a compliment of the quality of the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nate099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

The Inn on Carleton provided a comfortable and quiet home-away-from-home for my husband and I during our recent mid-week visit to Portland. We stayed in room #5, which was well-sized, beautifully appointed and perfectly clean (a big deal to us - we're huge fans of tidiness!) The bathroom was on the smaller side (hence the "4" rather than "5"); however, that often comes with the B & B territory, and didn't have a significant negative impact on our stay!

Even though it appeared that most of the rooms were occupied during our stay, the Inn was very quiet - we wouldn't have known there were so many other guests if not for the full dining room at breakfast. The Inn is located on a quiet block within easy walking distance to the Art Museum and nearby attractions, as well as to the busier Old Port district. The Innkeeper and staff were all quite friendly and helpful. We couldn't have asked for a better experience at the Inn on Carleton!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I stayed 2 nights at room number 4 which was on third floor in a very quiet secluded area. The room was very comfortable and perfect for a quiet night of sleep.
Breakfast was made to order with great pastries. Afternoon cookies, muffins and brownies were always warm!
Buddy was a great host, even offer to help me on anything I needed, as I am soon moving to town...
The only thing I have to say that could be improved is that wi-fi gets a little slow and non functional at times during peak hours.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcmitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I loved the beakfast, sonya wad very sweet!! The place was pacefull and quiet I loved that it had a great energy! The rooms are beautiful...I really recommend this place!! Xx elisa from chile

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisaghs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,449 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $146 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing