We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portland Harbor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night with family after flying into Boston from Europe. We were tired but staff were very friendly and the rooms smartly furnished though not huge. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was pricey and not that family friendly. Common parts also stylish and the hotel well located downtown. Not astonishing value.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank ADL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

We appreciate your comments and that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We do cater to families as well, and I apologize if your welcome to Eve's on the Garden, was not up to our normal warm and welcoming standards.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future !

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

851 - 857 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were attending our nephew's wedding in Portland and chose the Portland Harbor Hotel because it is a boutique hotel. We were not disappointed. The hotel is stylish in an American way, with all the amenities you would expect. The breakfast in the beautiful courtyard was delicious. When we had to wait a long time on the second morning for breakfast it was offered on the house. Great customer service. Located in a lovely part of the city it was an easy walk to everywhere and we took advantage of the free bikes to explore a bit further afield. Our room overlooked a music bar on Wharf Street, where we went for a beer on the Friday night on our way back. We enjoyed the music then and from our room the next night. I suppose that would make it too loud for some people on that side, but other rooms are available if you ask on booking. All in all we were very impressed by the hotel and its staff and would happily recommend it or stay there again.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sue2McM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

What a nice review of our hotel ! We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your positive comments with the Trip Advisor community.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Relatively standard business traveler type hotel in an excellent location near the harbor and downtown Portland, Maine with convenient on-site parking. Front desk was helpful, restaurant breakfast was very satisfying, and the bar even carried some great port! Not a "destination hotel" but a perfectly adequate location to set up shop comfortably in Portland. Twitter and Instagram: @kmptop10

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmptop10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda G, Owner at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

We appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us a review on Trip Advisor. Our hotel caters to a wide variety of business and vacationing guests and strives to exceed our guests expectations at every level.
We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again and thank you for your valuable feedback.

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Portland is a great city for the sights, sounds and most of all food! We stayed at this hotel and it was a perfect location to tour this walkable city. Close to all restaurants and shops. There is an elegance about this hotel without being stuffy. Rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. Staff was friendly and helpful. No need for a car once you are parked. The city is very close to the airport so unless you are leaving Portland to tour other parts of Maine, take a taxi to the hotel. I was please with my experience here and would recommend it. Nice little restaurant in the hotel but did not try it because there were too many other fabulous places to eat in Portland. Come hungry!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

We are delighted that you so enjoyed your recent stay with us ! Our location certainly can't be beat and we agree, that with all of the wonderful restaurants in our area, our guests have difficult decisions to make. We hope that you might try our gourmet restaurant " Eve's on the Garden" the next time you visit us and don't forget that we also offer complimentary luxury car service in the Portland area.

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My wife and I just returned from Portland Harbor Hotel and although the venue was fine, i wanted to share a bad customer service experience. When we checked in the check-in associate asked if we believe we will spend money at the hotel for "incidentals", i replied we probably will and he proceeded to ask "how much money would like to put on your credit card, $150? $250?, i said, i didn't know and in any case it didn't matter, when i spend the money you will charge my card, for which he replied, no, we have to charge you in advance. I thought this was ridiculous and I protested, the response i got that this was hotel policy, the reception clerk did not make any effort to understand my position and we finally put the expected parking charge on my card. If this is indeed policy it reeks of mistrust of the customer and pressure to spend money in the hotel, if you happen to go to the Portland Harbor make sure to let them know you are not buying into their bullying.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shmuelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and especially for returning my email to you and discussing your concerns with me personally via telephone. As I explained, our hotel never " pre-charges" for incidentals, a credit card is obtained and a reservation of credit is held to ensure available funds on departure. We are very sorry that this information was not explained correctly and that it caused confusion or prevented you from fully enjoying our hotel and our full service amenities.
I hope that after our conversation, you will allow us a future opportunity to demonstrate our typical high standards of service and guest satisfaction and will stay us again if visiting our area.

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel is situated in a great spot near the Old Port and the Old Port shopping and watering holes,. Walking to most of the interesting places in Portland is easy. The good restaurants are mostly nearby and walking on Commercial Street and the docks are a short block away. Hotel has great beds and bathrooms. Breakfast was a little slow but very tasty and the bar is well stocked and has a good bartender. This is definitely an upscale place that we would rdturn to again and again.

Room Tip: Not on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Thank you for your five star review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would choose to stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The room was quite comfortable with comfortable beds, nice flat screen, and a well appointed bathroom and vanity with drawers and surface area to hold your personal items.
Parking is $18 but they have a complimentary car service which was extremely useful for us - the drivers and the concierge encouraged us to use this service - this added alot of convenience to our stay , especially with our Mom not able to walk alot.
All the service staff made our stay special and we would not hesitate to come back again.
Check out was early but we were allowed to leave our car parked until the afternoon when we were ready to leave.

Room Tip: facing into the courtyard may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadeen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable and welcoming stay at our hotel. Our luxury car service is a wonderful amenity for our guests and we thank you for sharing your feedback with us !

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
0.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Address: 468 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4029
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $126 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel in Old Port. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing