We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff, Accommodating and Professional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portland Harbor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Visited for 2 nights with my daughter to evaluate for a future business conference. The entire staff was extremely responsive, the food very good, and services perfect. We forgot a coat there. They found it, called us and shipped it right back. I got excellent help and advice on restaurants and activities for our group. My experience was more than satisfactory.

Room Tip: You'll find fresh coffee and a selection of teas at the end of each hallway in the morning. A ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savewaypl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind 5 Star review of The Portland Harbor Hotel. We agree that offering complimentary fresh brewed Starbucks coffee on every guest room floor, is far superior than the typical in-room coffee maker. We are glad that you appreciated this as well.
Please reach out to myself, or our Director of Sales; Linda Prescott for any group and conference needs you may have.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Again, just checked in, in calling I asked if they had all cotton sheets. Obviously if I asked I reAlly care. The small pillow on the bed is all cotton but sheets I don't think so, should have brought my own pillow. The pillowcases areso rough. This is a nice, very nice hotel, the sheets are just extremely sub standard for the class of this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank bolily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding the linen quality. We apologize that we did not meet your expectation in this area and want you to know that we do take every guest comment to heart.
We are fortunate that we have the facilities on site to launder our own linen and will discuss your concerns with our housekeeping management team to ensure 100% quality.

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel in Portland, Maine was an excellent choice. I went by all the other reviews before I booked this hotel and it was a good choice. Rooms were very clean and cozy. It is close to all and we didnt even use the car to get around. We walked to all of our destinations.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor in room 409 and it was quiet except when the nearby clubs have a band pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at our hotel, with the Trip Advisor community. We understand that our guests have choices when deciding where to stay and are delighted that your experience was an " Excellent" one.

We hope to serve you again in the future !

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights here on a recent road trip, and it very much fit the bill. It's fairly typical city hotel in some respects, but the rooms were clean and nice, hospitality was good and valet service was especially convenient and courteous. The location was perfect for exploring both the waterfront and the center of town on foot.

Room Tip: I'd go with a room overlooking the garden (as we did), as I imagine those facing the streets wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IBJeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

We appreciate your positive review of your recent visit with us. As Portland's only Four Diamond hotel, we are fortunate to also have the recognition of the" perfect location" in the Old Port district.
We hope that you will choose us again when you return to the East Coast.

Best Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed at this property as part of a photo trek recently. I found my room to be very comfy, well appointed, with lots of storage. The bathroom stands out as it is very well done, roomy. I would point out that there is little light in the bathroom and it is not easy to shave and see what you are doing. Staff were great throughout my stay. I had breakfast at the restaurant and it was delicious, albeit a bit pricey.

The only down side I see is the level of noise coming from across the street at night. Whenever there are bands playing, you will hear them quite clearly. It is very loud. If you are a light sleeper, then ask for a room away from the street as much as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Portland Harbor Hotel are very much appreciated. Our staff are a tremendous asset to our property and thank you for recognizing them in addition to the overall comfort you experienced during your visit.
We hope you took advantage of our complimentary luxury town car service during your photo shoot in Portland.
As you suggested, our Garden side rooms and suites are highly recommended to our guests to ensure a quieter night stay.

Warm Regards,
and we do hope to see you again.

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Portland Harbor Hotel was totally superb! The staff were very professional and friendly and very accommodating! The room was lovely with beautiful decor and hardwood floors. The bathroom had a walk-in shower and tub. The amenities were sweet. Most importantly, the cleanliness of the room and bathroom was evident. The decor throughout the hotel was lovely . The perks of being picked up and dropped off at the train station by a town car and the morning coffee outside the rooms on each floor made it special. It is close to all Portland sights (walking distance). The restaurant is very nice/ cute bar/delicious breakfast. We highly recommend this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

What a lovely review and thank you for sharing your positive comments with the Trip Advisor community. Our team is truly delighted when they read how pleased our guests are with their experience at the Portland Harbor Hotel.
You should also try Eve's on the Garden for dinner the next time you visit - weather permitting, enjoy a romantic dinner garden side !

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay in one of the Portland Harbor Hotel's jacuzzi suites with one king sized bed. The staff was very personable and helpful. The suite we had overlooked the garden and we could also see Portland Harbor just a short distance away. We went in April so got off-season prices, which for us was still a bit pricey but worth it. The suite was very clean which is of utmost importance to me; it was also roomy and comfortable. The bed was quite comfy as well. We enjoyed the jacuzzi very much. The only thing we wished for was a control for the water jets as they were a little too powerful, but that didn't stop us from using it. The dining room was very pricey but there are many restaurants within walking distance or a short drive to choose from. They serve complimentary Starbucks coffee in the lobby starting at 5:30am and there's a variety of free newspapers to choose from. Being an "early bird" and a Starbuck's fan, this was a definite plus for me!!!!! You do get charged approx. $20.00 a day for valet parking (you find out when you get your bill) which is mandatory. The valet staff was very nice but it seemed weird when your car was right there and they had to drive it out of the space and maybe another couple of yards before you could get into it. I could see if the hotel was busy since the parking garage is small and, if it fills up, they use local rented parking lots, but it wasn't busy when we were there. All in all this was a nice, romantic place to stay if you don't mind spending a little extra for a special occasion:)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive review of our hotel and staff. We are glad that you chose the Portland Harbor Hotel for your special get away and do hope to see you again in the future.


Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
0.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Address: 468 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4029
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $129 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel in Old Port. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing