We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Old Port”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portland Harbor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Nice room, very friendly staff, good breakfast & dinner options in the hotel, convenient parking garage, free airport shuttle and excellent location to bars & restaurants - what more could you want while in Portland.

Room Tip: Might want to avoid outside rooms on the Union & Wharf side of the hotel (Thursday - Saturday ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you for the positive review. Portland has so much to offer all around the hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to your return.

Gerard Kiladjian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

937 - 943 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

Very nice hotel. It's beautiful and in great shape. The rooms are really beautiful, great bathrooms, big tub, marble, nice desk in the room, free wifi and even had a little refrigerator. The staff is helpful, but not nosy. They allow dogs, but it costs $25 per night. My dog had a great stay. It's in a very convenient location of the Old Port. The hotel bar is nice, but expensive. We missed happy hour. Free good coffee on each floor every morning. All the staff at the hotel was great. Only negative is the price, but I'm cheap! and the room rate is really quite fair especially considering the size of the rooms, the cleanliness of the hotel, the A++ staff and the can't be beat location. What can I say, I just don't like to spend more than 75 on a room. There were even two plush bathrobes waiting for us. We refused the nightly turn down service because of the dog, but that's another +. The whole hotel could not be cleaner. You can walk everywhere from this hotel. Park your car and enjoy the town. I can recommend this hotel without hesitation and I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Portland!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

We are delighted you had a great. time. Thank you choosing to stay with us. We have a great team who loves to take care of our guests. I will certainly share you comments with our team.

As a guest of the Portland Harbor Hotel, you will receive a monthly newsletter that offers special rates & packages throughout the year. We hope you take advantage of it and stay with us again soon.

Gerard Kiladjian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Beautiful, spacious rooms; helpful service; and terrific breakfast at the hotel restaurant (the blackberry bacon jam is amazing). The valet attendants were also very nice. Good restaurant choices within walking distance and easy to get to from the airport.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for the compliments on the breakfast experience. Our Chef and his culinary team are very talented and many of our breakfast items at Eve's at the Garden Restaurant are popular with our repeat guests.

The airport is less than 5 miles away and we provide transportation to/from the airport with our Lincoln MKS car service. We also provide transportation to local restaurant and attractions.

we look forward to your return.

Gerard Kiladjian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband and I recently attended a concert at the Cumberland Civic Center, and we stayed here for the weekend. The hotel overall is very nice. It is clean and quiet. Aside from the concierge, all of the staff we encountered were helpful and pleasant. The room was nicely appointed for the price, and the location was perfect. The hotel is conveniently located close to shopping and dining, and it only took us a few minutes to walk to the Civic Center. I would definitely stay here again, if in the area, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in the Old Port.

Room Tip: Across the street, there are some very busy clubs on the weekend nights. I'm not sure what the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you very much for the positive Feedback. We are glad you had a great stay with us. Portland is a great walking town.

We hope to see you agin soon.

Gerard Kiladjian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I love this hotel! Right in the heart of Portland, everything was outside our door step. The lobby is so inviting with a lit fireplace and a lounge area overlooking a charming courtyard. The room was just perfect - there was even a Frette pillow with Hotel's initials...I love linens so this caught my eye. But the appointments were just perfect - the wine glasses and corkscrew in the room so no calling room service - a refigerator, outlets for phones and ipads and windows that open onto the courtyard were fab to get fresh air. The Bathroom's soaking tub was a favorite too. But working out just highlighted the stay - the gym was well appointed with machines - and towels, water and ear plugs provided. What havnt they thought of? And I forgot to mention - starbucks coffee and tea forte in the mornings on your floor. Cant wait to come back - and one must always appreciate the cute valets who were super nice and helpful too!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKCBeverlyFarms_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

What a wonderful review. Thank you very much for the compliments. Our team will greatly appreciate the positive feedback.We do our best every day to make sure our guests enjoy their stay.

Our Eve's at the Garden restaurant & lounge is a hidden gem in Portland. The Garden is a tranquil summer oasis where you can enjoy a meal or a drink away from the downtown crowds. I hope you get a chance to enjoy it this summer.

We look forward to your return.

Gerard Kiladjian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Back on Sunday, March 16th I was in the Old Port for the St. Patrick’s Day Parade and while waiting I met two older women from New York, here in Portland on vacation. We began talking and they told me they were waiting for a ride from their hotel to take them to an event at Merrill Auditorium. While the women waited Portland Harbor Hotel’s town car pulled up and the man driving got out and asked if they had called for a ride. It was at this time the women realized that they had called the wrong Hotel for a pick up. They were staying at a different hotel and not the Portland Harbor Hotel. The women apologized to the driver for the confusion and said they would call their hotel for a ride. Portland Harbor’s driver was very polite and instead of driving away, as I have seen other area hotels do, he opened the car doors and told them he would take them anyway. The women were very thankful to the driver and for the ride. It was an extremely nice thing for the driver to do and it shows the kind of exemplary staff that Portland Harbor Hotel has.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review of our driver. We are very proud of our team.
I will share you comments with our team.

We hope you will get a chance to stay with us soon.

Gerard Kiladjian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Portland Harbor Hotel was a wonderful experience. The room was delightful and the service was exemplarily. Portland is a wonderful town full of quaint restaurants serving great food. I'd highly recommend a trip to the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for the compliments. We are glad you caught the " Portland Bug". We have so much to offer from food to culture to my favorite: The ocean.

We hope to see you again soon.

Gerard Kiladjian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Address: 468 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4029
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $129 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel in Old Port. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing