We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business in New England”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portland Harbor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Chapman, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Business in New England”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I were in Portland for business we chose The Portland Harbor Hotel. We were cold and tired and found a great oasis. The staff was gracious, the bar was cozy,the food was great, service above par and our room was quiet and comfortable. Overall way above average. A great hideaway in a busy urban setting.

Room Tip: Ask the desk they are extremely polite and helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    298
    100
    57
    24
See reviews for
228
723
49
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I'll start by saying that we visit Portland about twice a year - this NYE was freezing cold so we spent a lot more time in our room than usual! We stayed at the hotel once last year as well - the first stay was better than this previous one. The room was a lot smaller and colder - the heating system felt like it was blowing cold air. All that aside, I really like this hotel. The location is so perfect for walking around the Old Port, and the valet parking at $16/night isn't bad at all. The beds are very comfortable, and they're also pet friendly, which is hard to find! I'd definitely recommend this hotel if you want to splurge on a stay in Portland.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the cold, go during off-peak season, or call the hotel directly to see what de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulav701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for selecting the Portland Harbor Hotel as your New Year's Eve destination. It certainly has been a cold winter, and we are sorry to hear you weren't warm enough. We will ask maintenance to look at the heating system. We hope to see you again, and that it's warmer out the next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We usually have New Year's dinner in Portland and decided to stay in town this year rather than drive home after celebrating. I would have to say that the hotel was at least half of our wonderful experience in our favorite city. Staff was most attentive, valet parking was a breeze, and the room was very comfortable. We will probably go back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your New Year's Eve stay at the Portland Harbor Hotel. Happy 2014 - and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Rooms are very spacious and attractive. Great location for shopping and dining. Beautiful lobby and restaurant. Had a very good filet for dinner. One caution, outside rooms can be a bit noisy from street activity.

Room Tip: Avoid street facing rooms if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The location is amazing. Service was great. Rooms were clean and comfy. Bed was great and I slept like a baby. Two of my favorite things about the hotel were the organic/ all natual soaps and lotions. And every morning they set up a coffee cart in the hallway for free coffee and tea.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bits77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in early November and had a great time. Hotel is located right in the middle of Old Portland within walking distance to numerous restaurants, bars, and the waterfront.

Good:
- Location was great.
- The hotel was very clean and beautiful
- Bed was very comfortable, bathroom was nicely modern.
- Staff was friendly and helpful.
- They had a restaurant/bar which was a nice way to end the day. Comfortable atmosphere.
- The rooms themselves were large and very quiet. We had a courtyard view though - not sure if there is more noise on the street side.
- Valet parking

Less Good:
- I always try to figure out one thing that isn't perfect...so...the elevator sometimes takes a long time. ;)

Can't comment on:
- the above mentioned restaurant served food, but we only stopped for drinks. Good menu though.
- Did not try the spa.

Besides being a great time, when we went they were running a deal that if you stayed one night the next night was half off - such an amazing deal for the quality of the hotel.

All said, the next time we find ourselves in Portland again, we will definitely look to the Harbor Hotel.

Room Tip: Courtyard room prices were slightly higher, but was very quiet so I think it was worth it. The stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frappeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review of the Portland Harbor Hotel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again and hope that next time you will also visit Eve's, our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at the Portland Harbor Hotel on a recent trip to Portland to visit friends and family. I had checked the reviews and comments re this hotel and was also pleasantly surprised to see a special rate when I booked for two nites. The hotel exceeded expectations with both accommodations and friendliness of staff. The lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas and everyone from the valet to the reception desk and housekeeping staff were gracious and helpful.

When we arrived home, my husband discovered that he had left the keys to his car (not the one we drove) in the desk in the room. He immediately called the hotel desk and was advised that they would be sent with the next FedEx pick-up; in fact, they arrived today after only a day and one-half. No charges were made to us.

We would definitely stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for recent stay at the Portland Harbor Hotel. We're glad you got your keys back so promptly, we're happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Property: Portland Harbor Hotel
Address: 468 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4029
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing