We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“First Class!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portland Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portland Harbor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First Class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

The Portland Harbor Hotel is close to everything! We parked our car on Friday night and didn't use it again til we left on Sunday. The staff was super helpful and very friendly. The turndown service with chocolates was a nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DotRatBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Portland Harbor Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed it, and the chocolates too. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    287
    90
    52
    24
See reviews for
217
687
46
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Well maintained with friendly efficient staff.Great location. Wish I could have stayed longer.I definitely would return.I had to cut my visit short and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.I've stayed in other hotels in Portland but this is by far the best.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Portland Harbor Hotel. We also hope that next time you can stay longer. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I was looking forward to staying with my wife in a 2013 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence hotel. The Portland Harbor Hotel promotes this fact at their hotel as well as their website. This hotel is very nice and our room was well-decorated and clean. However, my issues are more with the attitude of the staff and management which are not consistent with a premier hotel. We only had one night in Portland and it was my wife's birthday. I called the concierge earlier in the day asking for a restaurant recommendation and she recommended a restaurant outside of the Old Port District. I was surprised the concierge did not recommend the hotel's restaurant which we understand is highly regarded. The restaurant hostess acted as though we did not have a reservation and after a considerable wait we were finally shown to an unacceptable table (a subject for another review). We left the restaurant and eventually had a substandard meal at restaurant close to the hotel. Upon our return to the hotel, we did go to the front desk manager and explained what had happened. While she was sympathetic, she couldn't explain why the concierge didn't even suggest their own restaurant and made no effort of any kind to address our poor experience. When we checked out the next morning we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay. Upon our return home, we received a survey which I completed very thoroughly explaining my issues with the concierge while also complimenting the valets who were very good. That was over six weeks ago and I have not received any response from the hotel manager. Based on our stay, the hotel concierge, staff and manager are not concerned in providing an exceptional customer experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I agree with you, our staff should recommend our restaurant. However, many of our guests get upset when we suggest Eve's at the Garden when the reason for their inquiry was to find information about other local options. We will address the issue with our team. We regret your experience with a local restaurant was not satisfactory. I will also look for your survey and apologize for not being in touch sooner. Please feel free to call me directly with any of your concerns.

Thank you again for your business. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Portland Harbor Hotel is centrally-located with nice clean rooms and a friendly staff. I only stayed for one night but I would definitely return! Stay in one of the garden-view rooms if you're there for the weekend. You don't hear the street noise.

Room Tip: If you're there over a weekend, get a garden room, you don't hear the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rmjyflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to return. We hope you do too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. Shower door seal needs to be replaced but the bed is comfortable and the room is clean. Food is good in dinning room. I have stayed in better but would return and try a different room. Honeymoon suite is where we stayed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 35yearsMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a single night as part of our New England road trip. Payed the same price as our lovely 5* hotel in Boston and twice the price of the previous night in a very good hotel further down the Maine Coast. Don't understand how this can be (we did have a third party book for us & we assumed there'd be a reason for the pricing - now can't understand it!)
Centrally located hotel in pleasant small town. The concierge, David, gave great advice.
The room here was generally fine and the bathroom was a very good size (but the shower leaked) but I have 2 issues.
Firstly, why is it necessary to charge $16 to park. Had I realised I might have tried to save myself this fee. The sum does seem excessive for such a small town. Grumpy valets.
Secondly - noise. The plumbing and heating systems are very noisy with pipes seeming to cross the ceiling but worse than that was the acoustic from our neighbouring room. The occupant was quiet but I could tell what he was watching on TV, when he was using the bathroom and exactly (yes, exactly) what he was doing in there - not good enough!
Finally, the 'turn down' service that we heard (noise again) in the corridor seemed to miss us.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear about the noise from the pipes, we will check into that immediately. The fees for parking are standard for downtown Portland. In our instance we lease the garage space, we do not own those spots. I'll pass along your praise to David, our concierge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Having stayed previously at a top Boston Hotel, this felt a little more parochial and was not quite of the same standard. Nevertheless, the staff were very helpful and after a false start the courtesy car proved really useful. The location is just a block off the main harbour road, so very good for restaurants and places of interest. The bar/restaurant was cosy, although the menu for dinner a little pretentious for our tastes, but appreciate that others may be more impressed. Although no "wow" factor, overall a good place to stay when visiting Portland.

Room Tip: We chose a suite with garden view, but in fact it was on a corner with two roads either side, so a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I am glad you found the complimentary car service helpful and our location convenient. We hope to see you again, thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Property: Portland Harbor Hotel
Address: 468 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4029
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing