We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portland Harbor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I recently spent Friday and Saturday night her in Portland. Service was excellent, location was in walking distance of many fine eating establishments, and the hotel breakfast was excellent. The Starbucks coffee in each hall was very nice. My wife loved the thick bathrobe and the slippers. The parking and valet service was inexpensive and everything was what you would expect at a top notch hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 1,488 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

The first thing you need to know about this hotel is that they stand behind their product and will work with you to make your experience at their property a wonderful one. Located exactly where you want to be in the Old Port, the PHH offers quick access to outstanding restaurants, coffee shops, galleries, and shopping. My wife and I love the fact that they offer a complimentary sedan service to the local area. Though we would walk to dinner, all we would do is call the car when we were settling our bill and they were there before we knew it. Also, when you compare apples to apples, the PHH is an outstanding value as rooms at the chain hotels nearby are just as expensive, not centrally located, and don't have all the perks. With a new hotel being built accross the street and the historic Eastland being converted to a Westin, the PHH will need to continue stepping up the service in order to remain relavent.

Room Tip: Having stayed in another area of the hotel on a previous visit, we prefer the rooms in the executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musiclover1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is located in the old wharf area in Portland within walking distance of great shops and restaurants. The rooms were large and nicely furnished; service was excellent. The only downside was we could hear everything the people in the next room were saying. It wasn't a problem as the other guests were not up late talking, but it was kind of distracting during the evening and morning hours. Otherwise, a very nice place to stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JSD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay, we are glad you enjoyed the room - and we will see what can be done about hearing the people in the next room. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

If upscale is your travel preference this is a must. Room furnishings very tasteful & comfortable. Location is in middle of historic area & convenient to great shopping, sports bars & sightseeing. The staff was amazing. On each hall is Starbucks coffee to start the day highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bluegrassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the service, the room and the Starbucks coffee. I will be sure to let the staff know. Thank you for sharing your compliments. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booked about a month ago and had several confirmations as trip got closer. Hotel very conveniently located near harbor and restaurants. We had problem with our room phone and received a nice credit for our trouble. Excellent free coffee service provided on each floor at 6am, with green mountain coffees and tea. Unusually spacious room and bath. Unfortunately no massage service available on Monday or Tuesday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last minute - paid less than $300/night. Hotel right in the middle of the action. Went to several bars (ginkgo blue, grace, etc) and came back around 2am. All walkable distance. Key card to get back into hotel (nice touch as it is right in town). Bed (king) was comfy; bathroom was gorgeous. Enjoyed the 'wood' flooring instead of typical carpet.
My favorite part? The restaurant. Lattes and smoked salmon bagel. Fantastic.
Will happily stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MustLoveLabs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thanks for your recent stay, it sounds like you had a good time and got to explore quite a few places in the Old Port. I'll let the Chef know how much you enjoyed the breakfast.

We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Charming, old world hotel with excellent service and accommodations only two blocks away from the wharf where you can take a trolley tour of the city as well as a boat tour of Casco Bay. The rooms at this hotel are either old world elegance in the original building, or high tech sleekness with floor to ceiling windows in their new addition. We stayed in the Executive Suite in the new addition with the double jacuzzi tub with a glass wall that could be opened or closed so you could see the bedroom from the tub, a shower with two shower heads, double sinks, and a two sided fireplace where you could see the living room from the bedroom and conversely, the bedroom from the living room.The suite was not large, but it had everything you could want. Cleverly done. One nice touch, they brought you a thermos of hot coffee with all the fixin's in the morning. All you had to do was call down. Took just 10 minutes to get and it was totally complimentary. Never had that before.
On the way back from Bar Harbor a week later, we stayed here again in the Double Jacuzzi room in the old section. Very charming beautifully furnished large room with a view of the interior garden. If noise bothers you, then I would suggest a garden view room. The Executive Suite faced Fore Street and you could hear people walking and talking when the bars closed. But I am a city girl and love the sounds. The hotel is only about 5 stories I think.
But what we really loved was being able to walk everywhere from this location. The Art Museum, the trendy shops on Fore Street, the T-shirt shops and curio shops on Commercial Street.
We had breakfast almost everyday at the hotel restaurant, Eve's at The Garden, which is just excellent. See my review of it separately. They do have an exercise room which we scrupulously avoided, but it looked very nice. I do not know about a spa because we do not use those either.
This hotel is about to get some competition when the Hyatt opens in 2014 - they are building it diagonally across the street from the Portland Harbor Hotel. The Westin is also refurbishing a hotel not that far away. But I would always stay at the PHH for it's beauty, elegance, helpful and friendly staff, location and divine food. A chain hotel is a chain hotel. There is only one Portland Harbor Hotel. Yum.

Room Tip: If you want modern and hip choose an Executive Suite in the new addition. Get the highest floor you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at the hotel on two different nights, we are glad you enjoyed both of the suites you stayed in. We agree, independent hotels do have a special feel to them, thanks for saying so!

We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
0.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Address: 468 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4029
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $140 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel in Old Port. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing