We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portland Harbor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
199 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I read the reviews on tripadvisor prior to booking and was hoping for the construction to be complete. There is not construction in the hotel but directly across the street. The noise starts at about 8 am and we were awake by then. The real noise was out in the hallway! We were in the living room suite on the third floor which is right by where the housekeeping team"parks" in the morning (very early), ready's their carts, and has their morning chat. My son was sleeping in the living room pull out couch where he could hear them clearly and my husband/I were in the bedroom, with the door shut where we could hear their muffled discussions. Hotel management needs to do something about this!! The rooms were nice and small but very clean. The location is excellent within walking distance of shopping, food, morning coffee, etc. We would come back and stay here as long as the housekeeping staff was coached about their morning routines.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COMom45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We greatly appreciate your feedback. Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered. I am very disappointed to learn that our housekeeping staff morning routine disturbed what otherwise sounded like a great visit. I will certainly address the issue with our housekeeping team.

I'm relieved to learn that the area construction was not too disruptive, construction work is always difficult for us because we do not know which days will be noisy and which will not.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we hope you will return and enjoy a late morning sleep in with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    298
    100
    57
    24
See reviews for
229
723
49
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were in Portland during the first week in August 2013. Very crowded (beach to beacon run) Great place and staff is excellent. Right downtown. We ate at the Italian rest. next door which was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wesmma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

excellence hotel right in the middle of the "Old Port" section of Portland with superb service in every aspect. the concierge desk deserves a special "shout out". i am a native of Portland and they gave us wonderful advice and service !

Room Tip: be sure and ask for a courtyard room! street facing rooms on north side of hotel faces a very no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgthompson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We will be sure to pass along your thanks to our concierge team, they work hard to know everything about Portland and will be glad to know you were happy with their suggestions. Thank you for staying at the Portland Harbor Hotel, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I stay at the Portland Harbor Hotel every year. The hotel is gorgeous. The staff is so accommodating and pleasant. Everyone goes out of their way to make sure you have a memorable experience. The rooms are so clean, fresh, updated, comfortable and luxurious.

Room Tip: We requested a room on the side of the building that did not face a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonbon207b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
184 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Within walking distance from most anything you'd want to see in Portland (one block from waterfront), this hotel offers great customer service, a peaceful environment, good food, coffee and tea on floors( i.e. each floor near elevator had a stand set-up), wonderful location and complimentary bikes. It was our second stay there. Rates in summer quite high, but that's how they are all over the area.

Room Tip: Inside facing courtyard. Otherwise noise from Fore Street might bother you. The person we spoke to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLRS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here only one night, and really liked the hotel. Location was perfect and the staff was very friendly. We thought the room looked a little dated, but was spacious. The only issue we had was that the AC seemed to work poorly. Otherwise highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a business trip and enjoyed it very much. The staff was excellent and responsive. The room was very tasteful and was furnished with nice furniture, not the typical hotel furnishings. It had the feel of an older building with twists and turns, that I enjoyed. The meals I ate at the hotel were very good. The fitness center was adequate. There were a good number of cardio machines, a weight machine, 2 benches and dumbells up to 25lbs. There is only one elevator and it seems to stop at floors when called, no matter if it is going up or down. I took the stairs because at times it was a wait.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NCPamMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Property: Portland Harbor Hotel
Address: 468 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4029
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing