We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portland Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,555)
Filter reviews
1,555 results
Traveler rating
985
344
128
66
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
985
344
128
66
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown carchocolate lobstergarden viewfire pitold porthoneymoon suitecar servicestarbucks coffeeportland harborturn down servicevalet parkingbeautiful hotelstreet noisestreet sideperfect locationluxury hotelwithin walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,125 - 1,130 of 1,555 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stay here on business (usually 2 nights) when in Portland. Great hotel, very clean, and super friendly staff. Stay here if you can. Location is great to walk anywhere in teh Old Port. Many great restaurant and bars in the area. Valet parking is very reasonable at $16.oo per night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Syracuse_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

D3 went Portland for a break.... a few days away from meeting and greeting guests as we co-own an award winning B & B in Woodstock VT.

....This was THE place to stay!

From the moment we made enquiries, we were dealt with in a helpful an efficient manner by Alicia who runs the reservations department. Would Daisy Doo be able to stay....no problem and she even had lots of free doggie treats and bacon for breakfast one morning! Parking by the valet does cost $16.00 per day but its an efficient service and one is right in heart of Portland, so the price is fair.

The great advantage of the hotel is that you can walk everywhere, the choice of restaurants is mind boggling (Eventide, Salt Exchange & Miyake all excellent) beers and bars too numerous to try over 3 nights and some great bakers....especially at the Standard baking company. For a small town even in January there is a lot to do. We found a great salvage place near Wholefoods, drove out to Cape Elizabeth on a really warm day (16oC in January!) and two days later we had 6 inches of snow!

We were there in early January and got a great deal on a jacuzzi suite, which was quiet as we really wanted to sleep a lot. The bathroom was spacious with a good shower and separate tub, all the amenities were eco friendly, and bed very comfortable. The wi-fi is complimentary (why do some other hotels insist in 21st century on charging...it is a CON!) and very quick. All the staff seemed to like working in the place and many seem to have been there for quiet a while.

Another reviewer found the style of the hotel to be 'bland & tasteless'.....bland in a large hotel way might be a description, I however would not agree with that, but the place is most certainly not tasteless! The definition of luxury is so subjective, as one mans unique style might be considered a mess by another. What i would say is that the images and style their website conveys is delivered when you stay there.

We were very satisfied with our stay and we will return.

Room Tip: Ask to face the internal garden as one might get some noise on the road facing rooms, having said that the roads next to two sides of the hotel are not that busy.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidbignose!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife surprised me to a trip down to Portland for my birthday and she booked a weekend at the Portland Harbor Hotel. This was truly a hotel that I loved and will look forward to returning for another stay.

The location is great and right within walking distance of everything needed. We prefer to walk around in cities and this was the perfect spot for our weekend. The room was fantastic as it had everything that we needed. The decor was nice and the view out the windows were great. The bed was so comfortable... it was the perfect place to recover from the stressful holiday season. The staff was excellent and very accommodating. They gave us recommendations for restaurants that we didn't know much about and was very happy with their suggestions. The food and drinks at the restaurant were very delicious. The atmosphere was perfect when we decided to stay in versus head out in the snow.

Typically when in the area we will stay with friends or family, but knowing about this hotel will now give us another option whenever we need a break away!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 321GregB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Recently spent one night with my wife. As with prior visits, very nicely appointed room, easy to check in. First time visiters will find the parking valet, then having to take evevator to lobby a bit confusing. The food is very good on site. No need to travel for dinner anywhere else. For breakfast I suggest a 10 minute walk to Beckys - the local diner on Commercial street.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the Portland Harbor Hotel for a week over Christmas while we visited family in the area. We enjoyed our stay immensely. We have stayed in just about every hotel and B n' B in the Portland area, and this hotel is probably now our favorite in terms of the whole package it offers.

The hotel was decorated beautifully for the holidays. We checked in on Christmas Eve and there was quite a bit of activity in the lobby and restaurant. The front desk staff, like every staff member we encountered during our stay, were delightful.

We were very pleasantly surprised when we walked into the room. For a "hip" hotel in an urban area the room had more of a refined, almost rustic feel to it. The hardwood floors were a surprise, you don't see that very often in a hotel, but it gave the room more of a homey feel.

The king size bed was probably the most comfortable we have ever slept on, and the sheets and comforter felt of really high quality. The TV was housed in a big wooden cabinet which also had a small closet for hanging our suits in. The bathroom was spacious and featured a big soaking tub and a glass shower.

The staff did a terrific job with the room every day. We enjoyed coming back to find slippers, water bottles and little chocolate lobsters set out for us. They would also leave the TV on a music station (the environmentalist in me questioned whether this was a superfluous waste of energy, but at the same time it's kind of a quirky and endearing way to return to your room).

We had an amazing view from our 4th floor room looking out over the Old Port and down to the Harbor. It snowed quite a bit during our stay which made it even more spectacular. There was a particularly big storm two days after Christmas which kept us in the hotel for most of the day. We found our way down to the fitness center, which is a bit of circuitous hike pas the lobby and restaurant, but once you get there you're rewarded with a gym that's much bigger than you'll find in most hotels.

There were a few things during our stay that were less than ideal. The first was that our terrific view over the Old Port turned into a bit of a liability at night as the music booming and associated noises from Wharf Street could be heard pretty clearly even from our 4th floor room. It was not plug-your-ears loud but it was loud enough to discern what song was playing. If you're a light sleeper you may want to request a room that does not face Wharf Street.

The other thing that was a minor bummer was that the wifi connection was very slow in our room. We had a full connection to the signal but it was just very slow, like dial-up speed slow. We ended up using the signal from the BBQ restaurant across the street because it was a lot faster.

Minor quibbles though and overall we had a great stay and we'll definitely look to stay here again when we can.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, a room not facing Wharf Street would be preferable.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews