We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable, intimate, upscale hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portland Harbor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Situated right by the charming Old Port, the hotel is a warm, welcoming and cozy upscale hotel with easy walks to the harbor and downtown. The hotel is up to date and has good-sized rooms with a full shower and bath. Service is friendly and eager but the hotel operates with a very lean staff except during peak hours. There are two sides to the hotel and we prefer the courtyard since it is quieter. The "city side" is across from a very loud bar that has music and rowdy crowds that can resonate right into the rooms late into the evening and early morning hours. We are early risers and find the absence of true 24 hour room service a shortcoming. Coffee appears in the lobby about 5:30 or 6 am , before that it can be a long wait to get even a pot of coffee. The neighborhood is wonderful and conducive to an easy stroll either to the downtown center or the harbor. fore Street has numerous shops close by. The dining room is intimate and food is excellent albeit on the higher priced- side. Overall, the best downtown hotel in Portland by far.

Room Tip: Definitely avoid the city side rooms especially in warmer weather due to rowdy bar across the street
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontheroadagain449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,423)
There are newer reviews for Portland Harbor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very pleasant hotel with very efficient, helpful, courteous staff. The staff made for an easy stay. Conveniently located in very fun downtown Portland. Portland is a "blast", great restaurants, good music all in walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALLANBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

After our first night's stay this was going to be a 1-star review, but the staff brought it back up to a 4 on day 2.

We got a great rate on this hotel and were impressed with the finishings - all in all a top-notch hotel. But when we got back to our room after dinner on Friday night, our room was vibrating because of the nightclub across the street (Check out the map, Pearl nightclub at 444 Fore Street). We eventually fell asleep with pillows over our heads to partially drown out the thumping. I would guess that most rooms on the East (Union St) side of the hotel can hear the club on the weekends.

Saturday morning I asked the front desk to move us for the next night. They were extremely apologetic and moved us to a more expensive (and quiet interior) garden view at no cost. Saturday night would have been a 5-star review on its own.

Gym had a decent number of cardio machines (2x elliptical, 2x treadmill, 2x bike, 2x step), a small universal machine and a bench with dumbbells up to 20 lbs.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWOtraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We could not have picked a nicier, more convenient location in downtown Portland, ME. Many shops, restaurants and even the seaport area were only a few minutes walk away. The staff could not have been more helpful or welcoming. Even the young men running the valet service were outgoing and wanting to please. This place was terrific!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe queen, which was not overly large, but perfect for our weekend get away. Our view w...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnS721_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a great hotel overall. Rooms are comfortable, quiet and well-appointed. The hotel is very well located - walk to everything. The restaurant is expensive but the food is quite good. The wine at the bar is average but convenient to have in the hotel. It was too cold to eat outside in the courtyard, but it looks really charming.

Room Tip: I had thought we needed to request a courtyard room since I had heard that it can get noisy at night...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My daughter, grand daughter and I visited Portland, ME in July 2011 for a special birthday celebration. We loved staying is this beautiful hotel. The staff was very helpful in helping us plan our day trips and tours. We could walk to all of our destinations. We had a fabulous time.

Room Tip: Any room we are sure will be lovely.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhodaJoyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location. Good service. Very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms are clean and well kept. Street noise is a small downside. Overall great stay. Shops and many eateries are either right out the door or within a few blocks. The warf and great seafood are just a block away. While you are here make a point od eating as much seafoodcas possible.

Room Tip: See if you can get garden facing room to cut down on noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Address: 468 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4029
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $172 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing