We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portland Harbor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay(Portland)(Great Value!)
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa(Portland)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront(Portland)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port(Portland)(Great Value!)
$226
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ramada Plaza Portland(Portland)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$224
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Westin Portland Harborview(Portland)(Great Value!)
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$197
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,567)
Filter reviews
1,567 results
Traveler rating
994
346
129
66
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
994
346
129
66
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown carchocolate lobstergarden viewfire pitold porthoneymoon suitecar servicestarbucks coffeeportland harborturn down servicevalet parkingbeautiful hotelstreet noisestreet sideperfect locationluxury hotelwithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
1,173 - 1,178 of 1,567 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I would HIGHLY receommend this hotel. My husband and I went away for the weekend for our anniversary and it was perfect. The hotel is within walking distance to everything in the Old Port area. We never had to drive anywhere. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the building itself was beautiful. It had a very nice courtyard and a really nice bar/restaurant with a cozy fireplace. They had the classical music playing when we arrived (including the music pumped into the bathroom if you wanted to take a relaxing bath with music of your choice). The bed was so comfortable that i never wanted to leave. Definitely stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest room available and it was amazing. I can't imagine what the pricier rooms were like.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This place is a joke, if it weren't so expensive! It has an enviable location, and that's all it has. It is tacky and ugly -- a big overgrown motel -- pretending to be a grand establishment. The service is lousy, starting with valet parking -- which is required - no street parking and no self park - at $16/day/+tips; upon arrival there was a line of cars out into the street, with one frazzled attendant running around. Then there was a line at check-in desk. The desk clerk was frenzied in her phoney courtesies and attentiveness -- after I waited 10 minutes. All interactions with staff involved that same fake over-courteous baloney -- obviously part of corporate training. The room was OK, but certainly not matching the advertised glorification. It was impossible to control the freezing air conditioning in the bathroom, and the shower leaked on the floor and was yucky. Internet connection was so slow as to be useless; I gave up and turned it off because it took forever. Breakfast in the cafe was as slow as the internet connection, even though there were only three customers in the restaurant, and the food was modest, again with a whole lot of hype. And then there was checkout -- again a wait at the front desk, and in the garage, there was a line of 6 people and NO attendant. We finally picked up a phone and called the front desk to ask for a car attendant. I waited at least 10 minutes for my car -- which I could see not more than 20 feet away in the garage -- and then the attendant just stood there expecting a tip (which I gave him because I felt sorry that he worked in the awful place). Tab for overnight, simple breakfast and parking (without tips) was $310. Unbelievable RIPOFF. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE.

Room Tip: Stay in a different place
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaySL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had the pleasure of recently staying at the Portland Harbor Hotel in the Old Port District of Portland, Maine. This was the start of an 8 day Maine vacation and we were to stay 3 days in Portland. We are avid walkers and walked pretty much the entirety of the city, and in doing so tried to find some good places to get a drink and eat some lobster! We are from the West Coast and just wanted some "easy" lobster that you didn't have to disect like a high school science class project. After a taxing day of finding only cold lobster rolls and long waits, we decided to go back to our hotel and make the best of it. Oh my goodness! We had the best experience EVER with the restaurant staff there. They not only were friendly to us, but went out of their way to even make up a special dish for me with HOT lobster! It was amazing and they continued to be amazing for our entire stay! We all became fast friends and we so appreciated the special attention they gave us (as well as other guests also). The rest of our trip (Bar Harbor & Kennebunkport) was spent at a hotel and a Bed & Breakfast that didn't come close to measuring up to our experience at the Portland Harbor Hotel. If we ever go back to Portland, we would never stay anywhere else. It was absolutely exceptional in every way!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the interior portion of the hotel NOT overlooking the bars and restaurants. It can be very loud at night.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry_F_11190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

In a town with many chain options, I was looking for a hotel with a warm, boutique feel that was also conveniently located to dowtown. Bingo! The hotel has an excellent location downtown near the Old Port--convenient to shops, restaurants and waterfront. We booked the Junior Suite room which was spacious, welcoming and very nicely decorated--modern, clean, luxurious. Annd, ahhh.. the bed: so comfy. The bathroom was equally nice--beautiful shower and soaking tub. Unfortunately we had to leave too early in the morning to order the delicious sounding breakfast-in-bed, or partake in our free-cocktail coupon that was left in the room for us upon arrival.

In addition to the beautiful room and great location, I received a very friendly courtesy call to confirm the reservation--nice touch. When we checked in at 2am, we had to be buzzed in, and were greeted warmly despite the late arrival. Can't wait to go back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afaltin02129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We can fully endorse what most reviwers say about this hotel and accomadation. Really pleasant people from the valet boys, front desk and waiting staff. Ideally placed for all restaraunts of the Old Port area and nice shops. We were on our way to Bar Harbor and were last in Portland 10 years ago. This hotel and the staff made it a worthwhile place to stop over.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank GrahamR55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews