We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect location, beautiful room, but service could use a boost.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portland Harbor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect location, beautiful room, but service could use a boost.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We recently stayed at the Portland Harbor Hotel for a quick getaway to enjoy the Old Port during this unseasonably warm winter. The Old Port has so much going for it, outstanding dining, many wonderful cafe's, unique shops and the Portland Harbor Hotel is right in the heart of it all. Our room was one of the jacuzzi suites which over looks the courtyard/garden.
The Positives:
It was a very well appointed room, with the bathroom being the star of the show featuring a 2 person jacuzzi and separate marble shower. They even have a speaker in the bathroom so you can have music as you wash away the day.
We loved the car service to drive us to dinner and pick us up. It allowed us to have a few more drinks with no worries about driving.
Both of the concierges we spoke with were very helpful. They are very much in tune with what's popular and getting good reviews. They will not try to steer you to some tourist trap unless that's what you want.
The Negatives:
The valet staff are clearly understaffed and need a refresher on basic service. No one came around to open my wife's door. The valets are also the ones that drive the shuttle, so you could be in for a long wait.
The rooms feature a cheap laminate style wood flooring. This flooring does create lots of noise and you will hear sounds from the room above.
The walls appear to be rather thin as you will hear a good amount of hallway noise. Hopefully you won't be awoken during the middle of the night by your neighbors in the throes of passion like we were. I thought we were staying next to Meg Ryan's character from When Harry met Sally.
They speak of a wonderful turndown service but they never came to our room.
When we mentioned these issues to the staff the next day at checkout, though they apologized, they made no effort to make us whole. They just hope that we'll return to try again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank musiclover1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    238
    69
    46
    20
See reviews for
167
538
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

My cars finish was damaged by a corrosive fluid dripping in their garage, their insurance company estimates it will take 5 weeks to get a check to repair damage. I called Ryan -- to see if he would help me get payment sooner to get the repairs done, would not come to phone or return my calls. This is how you should expect to be helped if you have a problem with their services. Also very loud club next to hotel, banging and yelling can be heard until club closes at 1AM.

Room Tip: Find another hotel in Portland
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin/Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed at Portland Harbor Hotel for business. It's a charming, luxury hotel with a fantastic location. The service was impeccable. The dining room is elegant with excellent food and a nice bar. The valet parking was very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajghia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed here several times. The decor is nice and the rooms are upscale. What has really been great is the concierge service (Dave) who has always been helpful with restaurants and day trips. My wife and I have never been disapointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canddlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel is quaint, comfortable, and has a upscale residential feel. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

A group of friends and I decided to check out the Ice Bar event at the Portland Harbor Hotel this January. A few of them had already been but this was my first time.
Easy ride from Boston, valet parking at the hotel, took us maybe 4 minutes to check in with the amazingly polite and helpful Valentyna (I think that was her name, sorry if I'm wrong). She gave me my rooms keys, tickets to the event and two drink tickets. No bad for about $200.
Hit the room and was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. Two large beds topped fantastic bedding. The bed was ridiculously comfortable. The bathroom was spacious with a separate shower stall right next to the tub.
I noticed a 'this is a no smoking floor' sign on one of the floors but there was no scent of smoke anywhere in the hotel.
Unfortunately we had to roll early in the morning so I cant comment on the housekeeping but if its in line with the rest of the service then I can only imagine it is fantastic. Woke up to a local paper outside the room and fresh coffee in the lobby. How can you beat that?
I would definitely go back and most likely will even if its just for the Ice Bar next January.
The event itself was pretty fun. It was very very crowded though, my friends and I stayed for a couple of beverages and then sought indoor activities for the rest of the night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

great hotel. Location was convenient. All of the staff I came into contact with were very helpful and friendly. I arrived very late and the front desk staff was absolutely great. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
0.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Property: Portland Harbor Hotel
Address: 468 Fore Street, Portland, ME 04101
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing