We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all rounder”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portland Harbor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I researched Portland hotels pretty carefully and this seemed like the only one which was not a standard chain hotel. Consequently I was surprised when it was the only place with any availability but this was no reflection on the hotel it turns out. From arrival everything is very efficient and the staff very friendly, particularly on reception when you check in. We opted for the garden rooms which were very large and comfortable. Only gripe is very noisy air conditioning even when it is turned off! The bar area is very nice and has a happy hour which was popular. The concierge David was very helpful in recommending restaurants and excursions. The breakfast is fantastic and very good value! Location is perfect for the Old Port. Overall really good hotel with the staff putting the cherry on top of our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisred82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,247 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed at the Portland Harbor to celebrate my Birthday. From the moment I arrived I felt completely pampered. The valet parking was great. The front desk was extremely helpful, friendly and polite. I was wished a Happy Birthday by several of the staff members. Dinner at the hotel's restaurant was exceptional. Our room overlooked the courtyard and was lovely.
I can't wait to come back again!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Portland was so much more interesting than we had expected, and this hotel was a good base for exploring it. It wasn't the most sophisticated of hotels, but you could tell they did have ambitions to be so.

The only problem was that they messed up our dinner arrangements. When we arrived, they said there was no need for us to make a reservation. But when we came down for dinner, they kept us waiting 45 minutes as they had only enough staff to wait on four tables! But the staff did their best in difficult circumstances (ie impatient guests), and the food was good.

Room Tip: Contrary to our fears, our room overlooking the street was actually very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnWoodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

we love this hotel -- within walking distance to just about everything, nice retreat at day's end in the bar area, friendly staff, nice exercise room, helpful valet parking. We were here in mid October and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Our room with higher up and facing the garden/courtyard so street noise was not an issue though can understand how it might be. this is a great boutique hotel and we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Higher floor and garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoMillionMiles86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is a great location in the Old Port section of Portland. I had heard it could be noisy facing the street so I made a point of booking a garden facing room, and it was very quiet - I slept like a log. The bar/restaurant area is small but well designed, and the service is friendly. The hotel was crowded so food service was not terribly fast - but then, I wasn't in any hurry! I would definitely stay here again if I get back to Portland, and I hope I do. :)

Room Tip: I was on the top floor in a garden facing room and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda_22003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

perfect home base for experiencing downtown Portland...pleasant bar with a decent happy hour...an easy walk to many of the good restaurants as well as the city's harbor

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dentaldivaLPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We just returned from a week at the Portland Harbor Hotel. This was our 5th annual Maine Autumn vacation, and every year the Portland Harbor Hotel gets better. This hotel is perfectly situated. Whether you enjoy downtown shopping, sitting in the park with a cup of Starbuck's, strolling through the Old Port district, or sitting by the harbor watching cruise ships, sailboats, fishing boats, etc., the Portland Harbor Hotel is your perfect destination choice. We did all of these things on our recent visit, and what a pleasure to have such a variety of things to do, places to eat, pubs, shops, all in such easy walking distance of "home base."

The hotel itself is a jewel. The common areas are immaculately clean, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The food in Eve's Restaurant is fantastic. We always stay in a "living room suite" -- two rooms each with flat screen TV. The rooms have been updated twice in the past 2 years, and my husband and I thought the new wood floors were a lovely improvement. Our only suggestions for the hotel would be the inclusion of a coffee maker and minibar in the room. There is space enough for both in the small butler pantry in the living room. Outside of that, we had no complaints. Of particular note is the valet parking under the hotel. Yes, there is a daily charge for it, but it is money well spent. The staff there are extremely attentive, friendly and helpful. They always ask if help is needed with packages or if any directions are needed. They make parking downtown a complete pleasure.

The Portland Harbor Hotel is first class. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IRISHhms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Address: 468 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4029
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $120 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel in Old Port. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing