We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice walk with a lovely view”
Review of Back Cove Trail

Back Cove Trail
Ranked #28 of 150 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Portland's most popular and well-known trail offers view of the city skyline.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A nice walk with a lovely view”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is the path for walking, jogging (or bike riding). I like to walk 1 1/2 miles from the big parking lot and turn back making my walk 3 miles and avoiding the noisy park that goes near a highway. As I walk along the water's edge, I often see great blue & other herons.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    35
    12
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Take your bike and ride”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My wife and I enjoy riding our bike on this three mile loop around the Back Bay. Last summer, we took our one year old in her bike trailer. It was perfect for this as the terrain is flat and there are no cars. We felt very safe. Can't wait to go back this summer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mainetravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous for walking, running, or biking”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

You can start the approximately four mile loop from many locations. If you take the side closer to the highway and Casco Bay, it will be windier, which may impact your decision to go that way. Going on the boulevard side is quieter and more relaxing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Aerial04530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great spot for a walk”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I go here whenever I am in the area. It is a 3.5 mile gravel trail around Portland's Back Cove. It is very beautiful - lots of joggers, walkers, people with baby strollers, people walking their dogs. It can get really cold and windy on winter days!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Place to Run”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

As a runner, it was nice to find an escape even in a small city like Portland. The loop in the Back Cove is really good for loosening up and just running. There are other runners passing by and/or people walking/exercising. Towards the end you can connect with the Eastern Promenade Trail which leads back to the Old Port and Downtown Portland.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Veloz-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Cove Trail also viewed

 

Been to Back Cove Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing