We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Anniversary”
Review of The Percy Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Percy Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Uncasville, Connecticut, United States
1 review
“The Perfect Anniversary”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

There are a lot of mixed reviews on here which I totally don't understand! For just over a hundred dollars a night, this Inn is fantastic! Super clean, super friendly, and the olde Inn atmosphere is eclectic. Breakfast leans toward the "continental" side but it was perfect with fresh fruit and homemade pie! The location makes this place perfect for anybody visiting Portland for the first time- we never had to use the car once we parked it! A cozy room, private deck, and the warm ambiance of this place is felt as soon as you walk through the door!

My wife and I would like to personally thank the staff and Inn Kepper Dale for our wonderful stay at the Percy Inn this past weekend! We had tons of fun and couldn’t have pictured a more perfect place to celebrate our anniversary than your Inn in Portland. Very comfortable, and the personal touches from your staff were great! We will be back.

Many, many thanks from a happy couple!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rvincent4101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    33
    34
    21
    19
See reviews for
17
91
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
austria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Percy Inn gets mixed reviews from me. It has it´s charms but should be so much more. One great things about it is the location. It´s within walking distance to everything in the city center/downtown area and there are a couple of GREAT restaurants right around the corner. The building outside is beautiful. The inside is quite charming. The bed was comfortable and sheets and pillows were nice. So getting a good nights sleep is no problem. The girls running the place are very friendly and helpfull. BUT...the room was very dark. The carpets are quite old and the place needs some real TLC. We had some old dusty fake plants in our room that only took away from the charm. And a dusty old wine rack with an ancient botlle of half drunken wine siting in it. It was just wierd. Breakfast was a dissapointment. Portland has a couple of great bakeries that deliver fresh bread in the morning to hotels and restaurants. This would have been great instead of frozen bagels from the grocery store and cheap cerial. The cofee was also a disapointent also considering some great local coffee roasters in the area. I feelt like they are trying to skimp on breakfast and do it on the cheap!! This isn´t fair considering what the price of the room is. All in all an OK experience, but i wouldn´t stay here again. Portland has some other great B&B´s that are much better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gagnonml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were decorated nicely but quite dusty and my allergies kicked into overdrive. We stayed in the Longfellow Suite and we really liked the layout of the room.The shower was small but worked just fine. Breakfast was a bummer but the young lady boiling the eggs and making coffee was a sweetie. The linens were super soft. All in all- it's like visiting Grandma's house- a bit dusty but you know the bed is going to be comfy and clean with lots of interesting stuff to look at around the house.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineSlacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The only redeeming quality for this inn is the fact that there was off the street parking. This inn was drab, dark, and dirty with no innkeeper in site. The bed had a wooden board between the mattress and a very dirty box springs. Some of the electrical outlets did not work. The neighborhood was in transition with noise from the bars and restaurants. Don't bother to check this one out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great location, quiet and close to the center, beautiful house and cozy rooms, very good breakfast and parking for free. I really don't know what the other reviewers expect.
Yes, if you are looking for your daily chat with the innkeeper, The Percy Inn is not the right place for you. He was not around which explains the title of this review: You don't feel like a guest but more at home. Nobody is looking after you, you can fix yourself a cup of tea and have a piece of cake with it 24/7, you can scan the DVD shelves and play a movie you always wanted to see on a rainy day, you even let yourself into the room, the key is on the bedstand. Three young women take turns in serving continental breakfast with lots of fresh fruit, cereals, and, again, cake; and in providing the room service very thoroughly. A small complaint we had led to immediate action and a charming excuse. Prices are moderate, too. We had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Don't believe any review calling it " the premier b&b in Portland". Maybe 10 years ago. That may be when the photos were taken. Have stayed in b&b's for many years & always enjoyed them. The best thing about it was the location! Close to great restaurants. Owner not there, service not there, window ac units not working. Seriously, save your money. It's not worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Seasoned traveler who stays at a lot of B&B's. I was mixed on this one. First off its dated, but if your into old creeky Inn's then it's fine. Our bed had 1/2 plywood holding up the mattress and you had to pass through the kitchen to get to our room but the food was good and so was the service. not a bad stay but room for improvement.....never saw the owner

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.7 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,370 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Percy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Percy Inn

Property: The Percy Inn
Address: 15 Pine St, Portland, ME 04102-3807
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Percy Hotel Portland
The Percy Inn Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing