We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty treats & generous scoops!!”

The Gelato Fiasco Old Port
Ranked #4 of 21 Dessert in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Discover Portland's new dessert menu with 30 flavors of gelato and sorbetto daily from a growing collection of more than 1,000 flavors. Try as many flavors as you wish and squeeze as many as you want into any dish. Full coffee and espresso bar available. Open Noon to 11 p.m. every day.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
213 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Tasty treats & generous scoops!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I couldn't even finish this delicious Gelato ! Caramel salted pretzel was memorable! It gets pretty crowded but well worth the wait. If by chance no one is waiting , the samples they are a plenty !!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom2morgan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    38
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great gelato! The service is outstanding, they immediately offer free samples, and are very patient. An amazing variety--something for everyone. There is some outside seating, too. Go and enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank utopia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but don't go after dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We went here after dinner for dessert at around 9:00. Out of say 30 flavors, only maybe 10 were left with no plan to replenish them. It was good and they were very generous on trying the flavors.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hathorpe115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing flavors!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Gelato Fiasco is ingenious in their flavor creations. There are usually many original and creative ones mixed in with amazing spot on traditional ones. You can try everything without any guilt and the staff encourages it. You can also have as many flavors as you want in one cup. On top of all this, their staff is fun, friendly, helpful, clearly enjoy their jobs and unfortunately recognize you if you become a regular. :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bgtatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not my style..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

On different occasions I've tried several of their varieties, but overall I find them way too sweet. The excessively creamy & sugary base overpowers the actual flavors, and in general the Gelato Fiasco product strikes me as a very Americanized version of authentic Italian gelato, more like super-sweet ice cream. Although the flavors sound very appealing and there's a large selection to choose from, they've actually never lived up to my expectations. I have to say that I've been disappointed with all my choices so far (chocolate hazelnut, sea salt caramel, blueberry, roasted almond). Not my fave... but luckily there are other options available quite nearby!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MomME50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gelato Fiasco Old Port also viewed

 

Been to The Gelato Fiasco Old Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing