We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better than gorgeous across the street!”

The Gelato Fiasco Old Port
Ranked #4 of 22 Dessert in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Discover Portland's new dessert menu with 30 flavors of gelato and sorbetto daily from a growing collection of more than 1,000 flavors. Try as many flavors as you wish and squeeze as many as you want into any dish. Full coffee and espresso bar available. Open Noon to 11 p.m. every day.
Gardiner, Maine
2 reviews
“Way better than gorgeous across the street!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great service, loved the fresh cream and toasted coconut. My friend ordered the salted Carmel and tiramisu they were also wonderful. Servings were generous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    39
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy and different”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The best Gelato ever; original flavors like Strawberry Balsamic! Try the Chocolate Noir! Smooth texture.A creation of two recent enterprising grads from Bowdoin. Good summer or winter.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CJBMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our favorite gelato”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We've been to Gelato Fiasco countless times and they never disappoint. The gelato is amazing, especially if you appreciate unique flavors and "stuff" swirled in. They also have the best waffle cones I've ever tried...they seem to have a bit of cinnamon added and they are such a good complement to any flavor. We always bring friends from out of town. Lastly, I want to point out the staff. I don't think I have ever been to a shop of this type with such genuinely friendly and helpful employees. It is never too crowded for them to assist you with your order (and it is often quite crowded), always offering free samples to help you make the tough decisions. We also love the outdoor seating in the nicer weather. Don't forget to join the Red Spoon Society. We will definitely be back...hopefully soon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Forget the ice cream go for the Gelato”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is right nest to Five Guys, stop in and you 'll be amazed by the choices so sample away. If you are behing the curve on trying Gelato then get off the sidelines and try it, you'll be amazed by how creamy and smooth Gelato is. The people that work there are very helpful and quick with sugestions. You can mix and match different flavors even in the smallest cup. In my book that rocks you can get the best of trying different flavors in one serving. Stop in.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MacLuvBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Now, this is the best Gelato in Portland!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I accidentally posted a review for Gelato Fiasco as Gorgeous Gelato. Both delicious but Fiasco is seriously the best. Crazy amount of choices but free samples to help narrow it down by their friendly and knowledgeable staff. And, hello... the serving size?! Don't order anything larger than the small because you won't be able to finish it. Don't delay - go here now! :-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaineGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gelato Fiasco Old Port also viewed

 

Been to The Gelato Fiasco Old Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing