We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice venue but sound was lacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of State Theatre

State Theatre
Ranked #57 of 143 things to do in Portland
Attraction details
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice venue but sound was lacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Ever been to a show where you feel like you're in a big tin can? Well, that happened at the State in my recent trip to Portland. Don't get me wrong, the venue was quite nice. I like the fact that there's no seating up front so there's lots of room for dancing. And the building itself is quite nice...seems to be an old converted opera house or something like that. They definitely need some sound buffers though to help deaden the sound! Oh...and their smoking policy sucks! If you're a smoker make sure you wear a patch because their "no re-entry, no smoking" policy is brutal!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank donflatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    12
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pownal, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always Interesting and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Beautiful, funky place with great gigs! We attended a showing of Casablanca with a 50's band and dancing after as well as Bill McKibben's sold-out Do the Math tour. Fun place!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port El Kantaoui, Tunisia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor house sound”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've spent good money over the years to see some of my favorite artists. Grace Potter, David Bromberg, Los Lobos, and no matter where we sat, front row balcony, 5th row center, nosebleed seats, the mix of vocals and instruments was muddy and some things I couldn't even hear. Is it the accoustics of the building? The sound system? the audio crew?
I'll never go again.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful Venue but rarely great perfformances”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The State theater is beautiful ....I just wish we could get performers who are popular today and not from 30 years ago1

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinderella04055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, NB
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We saw Ben Harper play here. The venue is a great size for any musical venue. It holds some great old charm... Friendly staff!

Helpful?
Thank Byron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Theatre also viewed

 

Been to State Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing