We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must stop for beer lovers!”

Novare Res Bier Cafe
Ranked #53 of 607 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must stop for beer lovers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

So excited we were able to stop here on our recent trip. We already decided to come back in the summer with this as our main destination! staff was so friendly and atmosphere was so comfortable! They just need more seating in the big room and it would be perfect. Can't wait for this summer!

Helpful?
Thank Copley25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    66
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Many much beers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have a favorite beer or flavor? I'm sure they have it here... plenty of free samples to find the right one. Great staff and very cool atmosphere here... not too crowded or waiting around for another round of beers. Oh and the selection... wow!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Syracuse_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stouts on stouts on stouts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Being a pseudo beer aficionado, I was pretty thrilled to finally check out this cozy spot right off of Exchange Street. We lucked out and found a spot at the bar pretty late on a Saturday night, and my luck continued as that night in particular was the '12 Stouts after Christmas' and I do enjoy my stouts. Great selection and pretty friendly staff, although they aren't the quickest. Definitely worth checking out if you like Belgian and imported beers, and they also have a good selection of Maine droughts. I will be back in the summer to enjoy the patio - which the bartender told us is awesome. Well done!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllroyForPrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We are a family of beer enthusiasts, and this was quite the find. The selection was amazing. I told our waiter a type of beer I enjoyed, and he recommended several I might like. I also appreciated being able to purchase "half beers", so I might be able to try a variety without rolling out the door. The atmosphere is great, kind of a dark, hidden pub. We ate various hummus and sandwiches which were just okay, but good to have if you are imbibing! Beer and atmosphere alone would be 5 stars!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ljw682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unbelieable beer selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Great line of beers. However bring your wallet as this place is very expensive. However you get what you pay for.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulGuidoboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novare Res Bier Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Novare Res Bier Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing