We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful spot”

Novare Res Bier Cafe
Ranked #51 of 627 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful spot”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We are a family of beer enthusiasts, and this was quite the find. The selection was amazing. I told our waiter a type of beer I enjoyed, and he recommended several I might like. I also appreciated being able to purchase "half beers", so I might be able to try a variety without rolling out the door. The atmosphere is great, kind of a dark, hidden pub. We ate various hummus and sandwiches which were just okay, but good to have if you are imbibing! Beer and atmosphere alone would be 5 stars!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ljw682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    74
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unbelieable beer selection”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Great line of beers. However bring your wallet as this place is very expensive. However you get what you pay for.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulGuidoboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best selection and atmospher around!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I wish there were more places like this around the country. One of a kind experience. Nearly endless beer selections with 30 rotating taps. A lot of local beers and plenty of international and national selection. This place gets packed on the weekends. The deserts are both amazing but I have not tried the rest of the menu yet. Limited menu, mostly bar snacks and sandwiches, but that is not the main reason to go there. The staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeerEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“This place is for beer lovers!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our Hotel recommended this restaurant and we were very pleased they did. An awesome choice of beer and food. The staff was very friendly and helpful and knew their beers. We had a meat and cheese plate and arugula salad that was very good. We will be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbugs0527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Crowded on a Friday night, but amazing selection, decent service and a fun atmosphere for serious beer drinkers. A must-stop for beer geeks.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novare Res Bier Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Novare Res Bier Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing