We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Visited in Sep 2013 and had a very enjoyable stay. 10 min walk to waterfront and many good seafood restaurants. Staff was helpful and courteous. Free breakfast was what you would expect at this type of hotel. Close by car are Kennebunkport and Freeport (for the shopping). Would definitely stay here on any return visits to Portland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilGab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

You need to come visit us again and try out the new breakfast menu. The improvements are amazing.

Have a gret Holiday Season and we hope to be of service to you again soon!

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

999 - 1,005 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

A pleasant, new, clean and quiet Hampton, just two blocks from the wharf and lots of great restaurants. The hotel itself has a great brewpub attached. Breakfast was excellent, well above average for a Hampton Inn. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbor sbove the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Padraic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for the nice comments about the hotel, and it is nice to have Sebago Brewing attached to the hotel on those nights you don't want to go far. Happy Holidays and please come see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Everything about the hotel was very good, from the front desk staff to the decor and breakfast. The bell staff was super accommodating in shuttling us around the downtown area. The Hampton Inn is walking distance to downtown. Also very clean. Great stay for our long weekend. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street, which was okay. Don't think I would pay extra for a water view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyH025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thats one of the great things about Portland. You can park the car and walk to most everything. Thanks for staying with us earlier this month. Come see us again soon. Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed here in the first week of December. Very well located, and nice seemingly new hotel. If it is not new, they sure do take good care of it. We had a view of the harbor. Nice big room, and what you would expect from Hampton Inn. Fitness room was large, and well stocked. Coffee, and breakfast were fine. My only slight issue was that you had no choice but to valet park, and of course every time you went anywhere you had to tip the valet. The parking lot was 5 feet away from the front door, so this time of year there did not seem to be a need for valet only parking.It may be different at busier times of the year. I will say the valets were fast, courteous, and efficient. They also cleaned snow and ice off the windows for everyone one cold morning. They deserved tips to be sure, but a choice of self parking would be nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beach2mountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. I am glad you found our hotel enjoyable.

The hotel does only offer valet parking. There are a couple of reasons why. The biggest reason is we have 70 parking spots and 122 guest rooms. Without some kind of organization we would have a tough time offering parking to our driving guests.

There are other lots in the area and of course street parking but by selecting one of those options you would miss meeting members of our valet staff. They are the coolest!!

Please come see us again. We would be honored to be of service.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband needed surgery on his heal at Mercy Hospital. He was very uncomfortable and this hotel was just what he needed. They got us in in record time and the valets were just wonderful. The rooms were nice and the beds were comfortable

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank ghrbarharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thanks for the nice comments about our hotel. Hope your husband is well on the mend. Please come see us when you can enjoy our City. Have a great Holiday Season and thanks again for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This hotel lived up to its expectations. It was a comfortable stay with a great breakfast in an excellent location. Everything was clean and modern. The room was a good size, with a TV that matched. The view (away from the water) wasn't great, but did give an OK view of the city. The bathroom was large and well appointed. No complaints at all.

Being able to access the Sebago Brewing Restaurant without having to venture out into the cold rain was a definite plus! When I return to Portland, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadMaxEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for the nice comments about our hotel and our friends at Sebago Brewing. Please come see us again soon and have a great Holiday Season!

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Went to Portland for one night on a weekday to check out town. Stayed at Hampton Inn because it is close (walking) to shops and happenings in Old Port, but was also a good price for the location and amenities. Very clean rooms, okay food for breakfast, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Todd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thanks for the comments concerning your recent stay with us. Your comments about your room to be clean and staff friendly are greatly appreciated. I do want to share with you that we, along with all Hampton Inns, have new items on our breakfast menu. They are great. You need to come back and visit Portland, stay with us and let me know what you think of the new breakfast.

Have a great holiday season, and thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,449 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $116 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! Valet parking only onsite $20 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing