We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Hampton, you can't go wrong.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were hoping for a B&B, but everything was booked. This was a fantastic alternative! Clean, nice rooms. Great staff. Great location, near the Casco Ferry and walking distance from Old Port, not to mention also close to some of the best restaurants (Fore Street, Eventide, Hugo & Flatbread). The price was higher than we expected, but we saved some cash by using the airport shuttle and not getting a rental car, eating the okay breakfast at the Hampton and no parking fees. Enjoy your stay...we did!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iRun2EatFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,075 - 1,081 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location. Excellent accomadations. Friendly service. The location of the hotel made it easy to see all the sites in Portland, Maine. I want to go back and visit when I can spend more time. The is a great place for a family vacation or a romantic get away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I travel a lot for work, and usually stay at Hiltons so I can consolidate my points ... and this one is the nicest one (at least of the Hampton Inn chain) that I have been to in a long time. The hotel is under a year old, is immaculately clean, has great breakfast in the morning, a pool, internet center and is centrally located to everything in Portland. It is also a lot cheaper than some of the other chains in the area (cough cough - Marriott). There is also the Sebago Brewing Co. downstairs and it is open to 1am ... great for games, a late bite, or just a drink after a hard day. I stayed here for two days, but I am not sure that I want to leave ... Do yourself a favor, stop researching and choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adedominicis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Hampton for two nights during Labor Day week. The location is only a block from the waterfront restaurants and shops and the other downtown cluster of bars, restaurants and shops. There are a few other hotels in Portland that are really in the middle of everything and are not as generic cookie cutter standard chain hotels. There are some higher class options. However, the price, service and location together make this a great value when you are in Portland.

ROOM
The whole hotel is new and in excellent condition. The rooms are big and spacious with an over-sized bathroom, shower stall and beds. I was happy to see a microwave and mini-fridge. The only negative were the pillows. There was a beautiful big comfy king bed with these tiny flat pathetic pillows. However, the housekeeping staff quickly brought us an extra two pillows when we requested.

AMMENITIES
The hotel bends over backwards to accommodate your needs and really strives to not "nickel and dime" its guests. This is a refreshing change from some of the more "resort" hotels that charge for every single small little thing and then add on a resort fee. There is a free hot breakfast offered 6-10 every morning with quite a nice spread (bacon, home fries, scrambled eggs, Belgium waffles, cereals, pastries, fruit, juice, oatmeal, etc...). There is a swimming pool with good hours (open 6am-11pm) with toasty warm towels. If you are missing any toiletries then the hotel will provide them. There is a brewery/restaurant attached to the restaurant with good specials and offers a 10% discount to Hampton hotel guests. I really could not have asked for more from a hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyNewlywed08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A really good stay except for the being in the room next to the elevator, which was small compared to the other doubles; so be warned. Excellent staff with first class information to Portland's sites and restaurants and when it rains, as it did when we were there, umbrellas were provided.
Re the breakfast: one of the best in any hotel that I've stayed in.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room next to the elevator. It's not noisy, but tends to be smaller than oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctsteve7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family of five stayed here for two nights in late July. We were very pleased with the location and the hotel itself. Our room was immaculate, and I am very, very picky. The room was big enough to fit an extra cot, and the water view was great...we even saw a cruise ship pull into port. The front desk was young but earnest and helpful, as was the valet. The free breakfast was more than adequate for our three teenagers, and Standard Bakery is right around the corner if you want something special. At around $400 a night, this place is expensive during summer weekends but the location can't be beat. Lots of great restaurants and shopping all within walking distance, as well as the ferry to the islands (we realy enjoyed our jaunt to Peaks Island). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Massfamilymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were celebrating our 13th wedding anniversary and decided to stay at this hotel. They worked hard to make our stay accomodating. I called in advance to have flowers in the room and they called all the florists in the area, but sadly, they were all closed on Sunday. They offered a bag of treats that was nicely put together that we munched on as we watched movies in the wee hours of the morning. This hotel was very clean and smells really nice. The workers were very friendly and greeted us whenever they saw us. When we return to Portland, we will definately stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $116 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! Valet parking only onsite $20 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing