We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“clean and comfortable”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Room was spacious and clean with an extremely comfortable mattress/bed. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. The complimentary continental breakfast was delicious. They continuously restocked the food and there was so much to choose from! The location in town was right outside the main shopping streets and the Sebago Brewery downstairs was very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    435
    83
    21
    11
See reviews for
363
643
45
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is very ordinary with typical tasteless hotel decor. On the positive side our top floor king room was large enough and had a nice view of the harbor. The only sounds we heard were doors and people on our second morning but that wasn't bad.

Some things were not as expected at this price: We never received the complimentary newspaper that was advertised and our room, although it had an ice bucket and fridge, didn't have anything to put a cold drink in, not even a plastic bathroom cup. We had to use the paper cup supplied with the coffee maker. When we asked for glasses at the desk the next day, we were told that we weren't "allowed" to have real glass so we were given some ugly plastic glasses to use.

Breakfast was abysmal and we ate out the second day. There were hoards of people, including a number of tacky individuals wearing baseball caps in the dining room. Ugh. I made a waffle for myself with the prepared batter then found it impossible to cut with the sleazy plastic "silver"ware so ended up throwing it out. From the paper coffee cups to the styrofoam plates and plastic utensils to the mediocre breakfast food, it was the epitome of a tacky American hotel breakfast. A hotel with the pretentiousness of valet parking should do better.

The hotel clearly has some anomalies: for example, the terrible utensils for food and drink which surely wind up in the landfill while they encourage guests to be sensitive to towel usage. Portland hotel prices are not cheap and we couldn't help but remark at how much more refined European hotels are at a comparable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solisue7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the bed is especially comfortable for a hotel of this caliber. The things I didn't like were: the breakfast (it wasn't good) and the eating area is very cramped and crowded with people and sometimes hard to find a seat. Every time we were ready for our car (valet) it always took a really long time. And the location is good (the Hilton is a better location) but not great and the view from our (harbor view room) was not good. The views were obstructed. This is a good backup if the Hilton Garden is booked, but I prefer the Hilton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank workcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is nicely located in downtown Portland near some great restaurants and shops. The best part was that the rooms were very clean and spacious. Breakfast is included which is nice, but it's not that great. If you are in town to try restaurants, you'd be better off getting breakfast elsewhere. Also, parking isn't included. I would give it more stars if it hadn't been so expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimKimmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

As noted by others, this is a clean, well located hotel. The rooms are spacious and well enough appointed. But for this price there should be real glass and crockery rather than styrofoam, as well as larger towels and a make up mirror in the very basic bath. Yes, they serve breakfast: eggbeater omelettes and processed oj. Coffee, however, is good. Standard Hampton Inn stuff, but at a premium price.

Room Tip: We paid extra for room w/ a view. Lovely towake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EZtripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hampton Inn Portland (ME) downtown-Waterfront. Stayed August 3, 2013

In Portland, Maine, the Hilton chain’s seven-story downtown Hampton Inn may be a striking enough new presence on the city’s bustling waterfront to let it get away with rates of $300 to $400. It is a decorative tour-de-force, all brick with a splendid big bar and large, spotless and graciously equipped rooms. You can forgive them then for a little nickel-and-diming on the soap the size of a matchbook and paper coffee cups enclosed in those gossamer-like plastic sacks you need two fists to pull apart.
But in the end this, like Hampton Inns generally, is limited service motel, albeit vertical. On our visit, this one provided some services that rank up there with, say, a full service Hilton. It charges $15 a night to park, and insists on a valet to do the parking. These features hit us in spades one night when, because of a half-hour flight delay, we drove in at midnight. A sign directed us to stop next to the valet booth. Although we had a confirmed reservation, there was no valet in sight, and the booth was locked.
We waited five or ten minutes and went to the hotel entrance. It was locked. I looked through the glass doors to the desk. Again, we couldn’t see a soul. (Later, we realized we might have spotted a buzzer to push on a far wall of the entrance.) We knocked, and no one appeared. We went back to the car and drove it past the valet sign and into a parking space. We returned to the entrance and only then, about 20 minutes after our arrival, had someone reclaimed her post at the desk.
That wasn’t the end of it. After checking into the room, I needed a drink. I went to the door of the bar, inside the hotel. It’s a large, lovely, lively bar. But the lock on the door blinked red when I tried my key. It wouldn’t admit me. The desk clerk rallied this time, with his key. After a drink, I went back to the door. Once again, the lock blinked red. I left by the street entrance and re-entered through the lobby. Evidently, guests’ keys are programmed to lock out guests at 12, although on this night at least, the bar remained open later.
I complained the next morning. Unsolicited, a manager did the right thin, and then some. She wrote off all our charges. But I’d suggest that a motel that dresses itself up like a full-service Hilton still acknowledge that it remains at its core a limited-service motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel was a great value in Portland. Excellent location on the edge of Old Port area...easy walking to most of the waterfront as well as to Munjoy Hill and other attractions. Very clean and quiet; good breakfast; and very friendly staff. It looks like Hampton Inn is trying to be a mass-market "boutique" hotel. I like it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank somesummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,333 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Property: Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing