We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I always look for a Hampton Inn. I just like them. This was a bit pricey, but it is in season for Maine and it just goes that way. Great location, helpful and friendly staff, clean and very comfy beds. We'll stay here again if we go back to Portland.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank ilene t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,152 - 1,158 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel was in a great location. It was a typical Hampton Inn as far as decor but more expensive than it should have been for this hotel. We wanted to stay near the waterfront and that was the real plus. The room was adequate but the breakfast was lacking as some of their equipment broke down.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for the Fourth of July long weekend (7/4 -7/7). The hotel is beautiful and in a great location. Its within a couple blocks of the water but very close to most everything we wanted to do. We were able to walk to the tremendous fireworks show up the street and grab drinks at the restaurants and bars around the corner. Seabago Brewery downstairs was great as well good. We took the shuttle to the Seadogs game which was a great feature. Our driver, Rich, was by far one of the nicest guys I've ever met. He was able to give us some insight in the area as long as being timely in picking us up and dropping us off. He should be commended!

Overall, this hotel was fantastic. The next time we head to Portland there is no doubt where we will be staying.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night after a trip up the coast on our way back home. It is 15 minutes from the airport so a good one day stopover. Rooms are clean and staff very helpful. Location is great for a walk around downtown. My favorite seafood raw oysters is 500 feet away at Eventide.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windsurfdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I knew we we just passing through Portland for one night and I wanted the best value I could find In a location near the waterfront and old port district. This hotel fit the bill as to both and did not disappoint. It was easy to valet our car and walk from the hotel to explore the area. It wasn't necessarily luxurious, and there were several business travelers, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
Thank AmyG371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our family stayed at this wonderful hotel for one night this week. The front desk staff was professional and courteous. One staffer even went out of her way to help us get milk for our toddler. Every staff member we passed in the halls and lobby greeted us warmly. The free breakfast spread was one of the best I've seen from a hotel. It really doesn't get better. We will definitley return to this hotel next time we are in Portland.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank dugfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here for a night as a stop on a long drive up to northern Maine. The staff could not have been friendlier. We checked in on the later side (around 9) and both staff members at the front were very accommodating and had great restaurant and bar recommendations. The sea dog brewery on the first floor lobby was a great place to have in the hotel and it stays open very late night. The rooms are great. Very comfortable beds, spacious room, very clean bathroom. The parking is a little pricey and is only valet but it seemed to be the case at most hotels in the area. The valet guy was very nice and let us go to our car to get things during our stay. The location is fabulous, walking distance to the heart of Portland. The price seemed on par with, if not a little cheaper, than other hotels in the area. I would definitely go back to this hotel, I'm thinking of booking a trip again soon just to enjoy Portland this time instead of using it as a stop on a longer journey.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sox33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,483 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $115 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! Valet parking only onsite $20 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing