We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the $$”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here en route to Quebec from Boston. Super clean, nice bed linens (I have a thing for nice linens) and quiet. The brew pub downstairs is open late which was nice as we were hungry late arrivers. We were late getting back from breakfast so called to ask for late check-out, which was granted. Unfortunately, electronic keys automatically revoke at noon, so had to get an override from the front desk, which wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaveThePlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,213 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hampton inn was a great hotel. Very neat and clean lobby and a good, free breakfast in the morning. Attached to the hotel is a Sebago Brew Pub, nice beer and good food. This hotel is very close to all of the attractions of the old port, walking distance to Shipyard brewery as well as all the shops and restaurants on commercial street.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York City, New York
1
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed 2-nights due did have a reservation. Hotel location great. Daily parking fee $15.00 adds up. Room near the elevator noisy in the morning children playing & talking loudly; also adults disrupted sleep. Floor above someone purposely walking hard floor near the room door entrance as this area is non-carpeted. Amanda at the front desk great, I arrived without reservation; exhausted stuck in traffic accident on highway & lost due GPS acted up. I provided info re purpose of my trip as get away from the city & Amanda provided info places to visit & places to eat with map ; also circle recommended sites. Really appreciated the info. Also follow up following day, met in lobby upon returning. Overall very nice warm reception from Amanda.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Hard to beat this hotel for its location and good service. The complimentary breakfast is very well done and the valet parking is real convenience. This is our second visit and we'll plan on staying here again on our next visit to Portland

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The property is spotlessly clean. The room was very comfortable with some nice touchs which added to the overall comfort. We both slept very well on the very comfortable bed in a quiet room. Perhaps being off the main drag enhances the quiet but my impression was that the soundproofing between rooms was better than average.
Staff was thoughtful and attentive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momoboys_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I hadn't stayed at this property yet and have never been impressed with the Hilton Garden Inn nearby. this place is much better. the staff is much more helpful, my room was nicer (newer) and the location is just as good. I will definitely stay here again.

The gym is not very good but it's useable at least. though if there were more than 2 people in there, I'm not sure how comfortable it would be.

Love that they have a very clean guest laundry room!

Do not bother eating in the restaurant at the hotel - the Sebago Brewing Company, no matter how tired you are. it's abysmal and there are so many great places that are so nearby. My bad on that one. Live and learn!

Room Tip: don't stay on the second floor. it reeks of smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bonsai35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Nice enough -- dead center for the price-point. The room we got didn't have the best view, but then we didn't spend too much time there. The air system was loud and we couldn't seem to get the room to settle in at the right temp. All that said, it was well-appointed, new, crisp, neat. The staff were very helpful and courteous. The hotel is ideally located for exploring all of Portland's peninsula on foot. Just one odd thing: The continual emphasis -- throughout the hotel (elevator, bedroom, room binder) -- on how amazingly clean the bed is actually made me question the cleanliness of the bed. I don't want to think about it -- for $150+ per night, I should be left to assume that the bed and the duvet cover are, in fact, clean. Telling me over and over that they are does two things: 1) it makes me think about just what they'd be dirty *with* if they were in fact dirty, and 2) makes me doubt the truth of your claim.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,507 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $114 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! Valet parking only onsite $20 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing