We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lunch”
Review of Petite Jacqueline - MOVED

Petite Jacqueline
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Congress
Description: James Beard nominated French Bistro in the heart of the Old Port.
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
568 reviews
452 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

A friend and I came here on a weekday afternoon for lunch during Maine Restaurant Week. I had been here once before a couple of years ago for Sunday brunch. I already knew that they were meat-heavy and in particular have taken issue with them serving foie gras due to the suffering which is imposed upon the geese in this process. This is not the only restaurant in this city to serve foie gras. I 'got over myself' and decided to try Petite Jacqueline again anyway.

The restaurant was surprisingly quiet. This is a French bistro, and our table was set with cloth napkins, silver and our water glasses already poured. We sat off to the side in a more out--of-the-way section of the large room, nicely decorated. Our waitress was personable, helpful and attentive during our visit.

We started each with a bottle of Maine Root brand Mexican cola, on the rocks. It was very refreshing. We each then ordered the roasted cauliflower soup, which was served in a shallow mid-sized bowl. It was a decent-tasting soup and needed just a touch of salt and pepper to bring out the subtle flavors. For our main entrée we each had the croque monsieur (essentially, a ham and cheese sandwich) with mornay sauce on top. It was a rich, tasty good-sized portion, perfect for our artery-clogging desires. I skipped dessert, but my companion finished with a delicious chocolate pot de crème and an espresso drink. Lunch was not cheap, even with the $15.00 fixed price each for our two-course meal during Maine Restaurant Week. But we liked our experience very much, especially our waitress.

I will come back, maybe next time for dinner, sans the foie gras.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    65
    28
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good quality. well done basics”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a restaurant that is good for a romantic meal or just as well a large party. We started off with a homemade pork pate – la campagna. It was smooth and creamy and went well with our red Gigondas wine. Several of us had a roasted cauliflower salad with wilted lettuce and others the cauliflower soup. Both were excellent. I had the seafood bouillabaisse and the others the beef Bourgogne . The seafood was a good mix with a nicely season broth. The beef was amazingly tender just like a braised rib. I had a poached pear with chocolate sauce for dessert. Others had a chocolate mousse and a rum cake. We all enjoyed the desserts.
The waitstaff was attentive and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Todabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Light supper”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Had a big lunch so we chose this bistro for a light supper. Heard that the chef is from France. Soup was good, a bit salty though. Salad was refreshing but again too much sauce made it too vinegary. But we still enjoyed it compared to the typical American food we had.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank maorangina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nothing petite about this place.”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Came here for brunch the other day, after dining at 555 I was curious to see how this place did for itself, and was pleasantly surprised by how good the food was. Service I felt could have been better, we ended up getting the salmon and Benedict dishes. nothing bad to say about either dish, everything was cooked very well and the flavors worked together great! we had to try the rhum baba and i'm glad we did, very decadent, caramel sauce drizzled all over too. this place has a great feel to it also, trying very hard to capture the idea of a french cafe. out of all the places to eat in portland this is certainly a place I would recommend and come back to.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Great Service”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a great meal on a recent c-o-l-d evening. The good news...we had a prime table in front of the window, excellent for people watching in Longfelllow Square...the bad news...the restaurant is in an older building with big windows and little insulation, so we needed to keep our coats on during the meal. Oh, well, like camping with a gourmet caterer. Despite the chill, dinner was excellent and our server was professional, informative and friendly. We both enjoyed the steak frites and split creme brulee for dessert. All fo the food was excellent, was the (reasonably priced) carafe of the house pinot noir. The menu items and preparation are very much classic French cuisine, so if you're in the mood for some French comfort food, give PJ a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nucenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petite Jacqueline also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing