We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a good as in Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gorgeous Gelato

Gorgeous Gelato
Ranked #1 of 21 Dessert in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Portland's only authentic Italian gelato shop! Welcome to paradise !!
woodstock, illinois
Level Contributor
147 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just a good as in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The gelato is great here, many favors. I was in Italy several years ago and had it there and this is just as good as you would get in Italy. The man Donato was very friendly, I bought at t-shirt and ordered one, he will send to me because he was out of the size I was looking for. Would definitely recommend, you won't be sorry.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    933
    120
    23
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yum, yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The gelato was excellent. Many flavors to choose from, each outstanding. Could have treated myself from one end of the display to the other with no regrets (it was that GOOD). Fairly priced too. A yum, yum experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Downtown Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

On a rainy day the 1st of June we took a narrow gauge train ride that was fun (short but fun). I pictured Ladies in the Victorian dresses of the time. The narrow gauge museum alone was worth the price.
The clam chowder at Becky's was pleasantly warming.
While visiting the nice shops downtown I spied Gorgeous Gelato across the street. On the way back that side of the street is a cupcake shop. We invested in a Lemon cupcake and took it to Gorgeous Gelato to be paired with their chocolate. Perfection!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“As good if not better than the best of Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Had seen the reviews but had to visit it myself. Wow, truly the very best I have ever had. Creamy, smooth, bold flavor and the nicest staff around. A must stop if you are in Portland, Maine

Helpful?
2 Thank Chefken69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
200 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian style Gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Touring through Maine, we were stopping at all the #1 TripAdvisor food spots by city. This one did not disappoint. Having been to Italy, pistachio is what I judge all gelatos by and this one stood up to the test. Good texture, not too sweet, intense flavor. Coconut and hazelnut were also great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorgeous Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Gorgeous Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing