We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab!”
Review of Gorgeous Gelato

Gorgeous Gelato
Ranked #1 of 21 Dessert in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Portland's only authentic Italian gelato shop! Welcome to paradise !!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

What a great ice cream and coffee parlour. The gelato lives up to the name. Also sells italian coffee, which is a plus in my opinion.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank marshmellow2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    956
    123
    23
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
“great gelato Portland Maine”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is by far the best gelato we've ever had. They'll happily let you taste a bunch of flavors. All are incredible. The people are incredibly friendly - they do this because it's what they want to do. Here is a word I've never used before in a review. The gelato and the people are perfect.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Ordered the gorgeous gelato and pistachio...yummy... Husband ordered Oreo gelato..delish! Server was very friendly and courteous! Place is very clean, homey!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This is the best gelato ever! We visit every time we come to Portland. The dark chocolate gelato is to die for and the flavors constantly change, but all are good. I highly recommend visiting! You won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank ElizC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
353 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great staff and even better gelato”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The reviewers are right on with this one. The young staff members were very pleasant and welcoming. They offered as many samples as you'd like. We ordered two of the smallest size, with a mix of 2 gelatos in each one. Excellent taste and quality. There are 4-5 tables inside and I imagine that this place must get mobbed in the summer. We went in when the temperature was probably in the mid-30's and wind chill much lower, in the middle of the late afternoon on a Friday, and there were still enough people to fill all the tables! Amazing. We did not try the cannollis but wish we had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SailorBoy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorgeous Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Gorgeous Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing