We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Contest”
Review of Gorgeous Gelato

Gorgeous Gelato
Ranked #1 of 22 Dessert in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Description: Portland's only authentic Italian gelato shop! Welcome to paradise !!
Portland, ME
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No Contest”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

This is, without a doubt, the finest dessert place we have. Everything is expertly made by the Gelato University trained owners and their staff. When you go in there, take a look at their kitchen.......You could do surgery on the floor in there! There is something reassuring about the level of meticulousness they employ in running this wonderful place. Everything they serve is exceptional, and every flavor is intense. When we have to serve groups at home, we order gelato "cakes" in advance.

When we go out to dinner, this is our stop for dessert.

Helpful?
Thank fogePortland_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    993
    129
    25
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Enjoyed 2 flavors of gelato, Gorgeous, and Pistachio. The young kid behind the counter was friendly, and helpful, allowing us to try different flavors first before buying. Met the owner, who is from Milano. Very nice, and friendly. Definitely will go back when I return to Portland, Maine!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“OK but not Italian”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Limited selection of flavors. Sorbets not identified as such but labeled "fat free, milk free gelato". Service unfriendly, but begrudgingly compliant. Please do no throw away your tasting spoon became an issue although ordered a cone. Who needs this?

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank livnddream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donaldyoung, Owner at Gorgeous Gelato, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
My dear customer,
My wife and me (and two wonderful children) arrived from Milano (Italy) exactly two years ago. All the furniture you may see in the shop is imported directly from Italy. Almost all our ingredients and flavors are directly imported from Italy. In our laboratory/kitchen all the Gelato equipment is directly imported from Italy. Next time, please don't focus your attention on a tasting spoon (imported from Italy, yes!) . Thank you so much for visiting us! Donato.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious open til 10”
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Something is actually serving til 10 on a week night! Yes! Oreo is so delicious! I would eat it everyday.... But I have a slight issue with sweets. Thankfully it is currently under control .....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alyssamabate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicioso!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Excellent service. Authentic flavors in a quiet setting. Try the affogato with hazelnut and amaretto if you want a treat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Papacosn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorgeous Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Gorgeous Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing