We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good and worth a try”
Review of East Ender

East Ender
Reserve with OpenTable
East Ender is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 627 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: India Street
Description: The East Ender offers new American food with bold New England flavors. Chefs Karl Deuben and Bill Leavy . We source products from local farmers and purveyors. Quality local ingredients allow East Ender to create a menu from scratch and present it in an approachable and affordable way. Seriously good food in a seriously casual environment. A neighborhood meeting place to enjoy house cocktails, craft-beers, and wine that caters to the cuisine. Our menu offers seasonal snacks, salads, sandwiches, entrees and desserts.
falmouth, maine
Level 6 Contributor
725 reviews
361 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Really good and worth a try”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Been there twice before and liked it; went to Sunday Brunch today. Funky place on a small restaurant row next to the legenary Duck Fat and near Ribbolita. Friendly, good service. I had part of a blood orange mimosa which I thought was unremarkable and then a Bellini, which came in a somewhat smelly glass and was otherwise unremarkable. O for 2.
I had a sensational mac an cheese with bacon and onion rings, and it was top tier. Other dishes at the table were smoked lamb and Montreal Hash. Both were very good. home fries with onions were also excellent. Reasonable price/3 people 3 drinks, coffees, mains and one side with tip was $97.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chimayred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    79
    28
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent local cuisine”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by a friend and definitely lived up to its expectations. Great locally sourced and prepared foods at a reasonable price in a very cozy atmosphere.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our family dined at the East Ender recently. While there is no children's menu the staff was accommodating, and overall the service was excellent. We enjoyed the crab cake and wing appetizers, these were both tasty. We had several excellent meals including the Lobster Poutine and steak. The lobster roll was average. The only meal that disappointed was the brisket. I would recommend this restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarterBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“upstairs downstairs”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

we eat here every time we are in town, very eclectic eatery with a ever changing fun menu that's just a bit different than what you expected (no matter what you expected), try the stuffed egg appetizer to see what I mean, always check the board for specials, very good beer menu, we usually eat upstairs but have tried both up and down without incident, always friendly service

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TreyGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid brunch”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Not a good brunch experience at all-out of beer I ordered that they told me they had, eggs done not as asked, home fries undercooked and flavorless, really bland and uninspired considering the rest if their menu during normal hours. Hate to say it was a waste if money but this Sunday it really was. Service average/hardly there

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taylor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to East Ender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing